Theatre

Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington D.C. is the world’s largest Shakespeare collection, as well as home to major collections of other rare Renaissance books, manuscripts, and works of art.

Read the full texts of Shakespeare’s plays, sonnets, and poems. These are searchable digital texts from the editions held by the Folger Shakespeare Library, Washington, DC). You can also learn more about Shakespeare’s language, life, and the world he knew.

(Folger Library in partnership with the Bodleian Libraries, Shakespeare Birthplace Trust, UK National Archives) This online exhibition is the largest and most authoritative collection of primary-source materials documenting the life of Shakespeare, bringing together all known manuscript and print references to Shakespeare, his works, and additional references to his family, in his lifetime and shortly thereafter.

Open access to 50,000+ digitized objects from the Folger Shakespeare Library's collections, including photographs, books, theater memorabilia, and manuscripts.

Listen to and/or read the transcripts of the conversations on a myriad of topics.

Read the full texts of Shakespeare’s plays, sonnets, and poems. These are searchable digital texts from the editions held by the Folger Shakespeare Library, Washington, DC). You can also learn more about Shakespeare’s language, life, and the world he knew.

View 107 copies of the 21 plays by Shakespeare printed in quarto before the 1642 theatre closures.

Digital collection of pre-1642 editions held by institutions in the UK and US. The page (last updated in 2009) you land on is an archived version of the original website from Oxford University which was withdrawn in April 2020.

The archive includes: 1. The Folio Collection: Images of all pages of the Shakespeare First Folio of 1623. The Oxford Electronic Edition of the plays, based on the Oxford Complete Works eds S. Wells and G. Taylor. An electronic transcription of the Folio text, from the Oxford Text Archive (OTA). 2. The Hamlet Collection (texts, images, and sample film sequences).

(University of Victoria, Canada). Includes several versions of Shakespeare's works: searchable old-spelling transcriptions, modern editions prepared especially for the digital medium, and facsimile images of the original texts.

Search text (1864 Globe Edition), concordance, and characters.

(Oxford University). Digital facsimile of the First Folio of Shakespeare's plays.

Information about the RSC's past productions. Here you will find plot synopses, glimpses into their archive, production photos and video content for all of Shakespeare's plays.

An international database of Shakespeare-related content maintained by the British Universities Film and Video Council.

(sponsored by MIT). Video and performance archive of Shakespeare performances from many parts of the world.

Devoted to the systematic exploration and documentation of the ways in which Shakespeare has been adapted into a national, multicultural theatrical practice in Canada. Includes the CASP Database, the primary point of access to the CASP archive of documented productions, as well as interviews, bibliographies, and teaching resources.

From the website "Google Arts & Culture": an online platform through which the public can access high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative’s partner museums worldwide.

Explore the works of Shakespeare and Renaissance writers in relation to the social, political and cultural context in which they were written, and investigate the ways in which these works have been interpreted over the last four centuries.

These works are studies of the stage texts used in various seventeenth-century performances of Shakespeare's plays.

Includes women's and men's monologues for all 37 plays.

Based on David Crystal's book, this website integrates the full text of the plays and poems with the entire Glossary database, allowing a search for any word or phrase in Shakespeare's works, and to find all instances of words that may pose a difficulty to the modern reader.

[BBC].

This website contains a searchable collection of more than 3,000 illustrations from four complete sets of the works of Shakespeare, all published in the mid-19th c. Created by Michael Goodman as an outcome of his PhD thesis at Cardiff University. For each illustration, brief information is given regarding illustrator name, engraver, original size, source of the text, and publishing information.

From the website "Google Arts & Culture": an online platform through which the public can access high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative’s partner museums worldwide.

Official website of the Royal Shakespeare Company. Click the link "About Shakespeare" to learn more about Shakespeare's life and works.

Official website of the Globe Theatre in London.

Shakespearean London Theatres (SHaLT) is an Arts and Humanities Research Council- funded project committed to engaging the public in key theatres and spaces from before, after and during Shakespeare's life. Tells the illustrated story of the playhouses, entrepreneurs, audiences, actors and dramatists that made up this founding theatrical industry. Includes maps, short films, and brief information about each theatre.

Portal to open-access, peer-reviewed Shakespeare resources (University of Victoria, Canada).

An edited and moderated, international, e-mail distribution list for discussion among Shakespearean scholars, researchers, instructors, students, and anyone sharing their academic interests and concerns. In addition to regular mailings to members, anyone can use the Internet to access the archive and other SHAKSPER materials from the SHAKSPER website.

Covers cultural approaches, themes, context, genres, plays. Teaching Shakespeare is a collaboration between the RSC, the British Museum, the BFI, Into Film, the V&A and teachers.

A non-profit, academic organization devoted to the study of William Shakespeare and his plays and poems, the cultural and theatrical milieu in which he lived and worked, and the various roles he has played in both Anglo-American and world culture ever since.

A NYC-based non-profit organization dedicated to increasing the enjoyment, understanding, and appreciation of William Shakespeare's works through performance, commentary, and educational activities.

Professional association devoted to promoting the study, practice and enjoyment of Shakespeare throughout the United Kingdom.