This resource is a searchable database of literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics, profiling past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights worldwide from every era.
Provides full-text access to biographical information in selected reference books and periodicals, including Contemporary Dramatists; Contemporary Theatre, Film and Television; International Dictionary of Theatre.
Preeminent British biographical source. Scholarly essays about deceased, noteworthy persons from the earliest times to the present who were born and lived in the British Isles or its territories or who visited or settled in the British Isles for significant periods. Also provides access to essays in the Dictionary of National Biography, published in the late 19th/early 20th century. When available, cross-links to the person's biography in the American National Biography. The online version has shorter essays and is designed as a complement to the print version (both editions):
Dictionary of National Biography (multivolume) / REF DA 28 .D4
Oxford National Biography (multivolume) / REF DA 28 .O95 2004
Additional Biography Sources
Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Musicians, Dancers, Managers & Other Stage Personnel in London, 1660-1800
Call Number: REF PN 2597 .H5 (16 vols)
Biographical Dictionary of Scenographers: 500 B.C. to 1900 A.D.
Call Number: REF PN 2096 .A1 L33 1990
Stage Deaths: A Biographical Guide to International Theatrical Obituaries, 1850 to 1990 by George B. Bryan (Compiled by)
Call Number: REF Z 5781 .S76 1991 (2 vols)
Stage Lives : a bibliography and index to theatrical biographies in English by George B. Bryan (Compiled by)