Theatre

Often referred to as the "bible" of theatre history; covers theatre from regions worldwide, and from all time periods (ancient world to the present); substantial bibliographies for each chapter are found at the end of the book.

Offers overviews of theatre and drama in many world cultures and periods together with case studies demonstrating the methods and interpretive approaches used by today's theatre historians.

[this is a circulating book located on the 3rd floor]. Regarded as one of the most comprehensive, authoritative surveys of the theatre. Its treatment of theatre practice--past and present--catalogs the origins of theatre through postmodernism and performance art. The 11th ed includes an all-new chapter devoted to musical theatre, and new "Then and Now" boxes that link theatre history to present-day.

Presents an authoritative survey from ancient times to the present, covering 2,500 years, tracing the complexity of the interactions between theatre and culture. 1. Antiquity (500 BCE-1000CE) 2. Middle Ages (1000-1400) 3. Early Modern Age (1400-1650) 4. Age of Enlightenment (1650-1800) 5. Age of Empire (1800-1920) 6. Modern Age (1920-2000+). Each vol. discusses the same themes in its chapters: 1. Institutional Frameworks 2. Social Functions 3. Sexuality and Gender 4. The Environment of Theatre 5. Circulation 6. Interpretations 7. Communities of Production 8. Repertoire and Genres 9. Technologies of Performance 10. Knowledge Transmission: Media and Memory.

Guide to information on all aspects of theater past and present: major playwrights, works, important traditions, theories, companies, practitioners, venues and events; the origins of popular theater tradition, including folk drama, street theater and mummers plays; the work of actors, directors and designers, including lighting and sound, technical theater, theater architecture and theater design.

V. 1: Romans-Englightenment. V. 2: Industrial Revolution-Digital Age.
Chronicles the history and development of theatre from the Roman era to the present day. Highly-illustrated chapters trace the development of theatre through major plays from each period; evaluations of playwrights; contemporary dramatic theory; acting and acting companies; dance and music; the theatre buildings themselves; and the audience,

Covers the earliest drama to the theatre of the 1980's, with essays on national drama and theatre around the world, theatre companies, individual personalities, and musical comedy.

Vol 1 lists 620 of the world's most notable plays, and for each entry, includes dates of first publication and production, as well as references to critical material. Vols 2-3 contains biographical information on playwrights, actors, directors, and designers.
Online: Content for vols 2-3 available full-text through Biography in Context

This manual for theatrical production includes definitions of all technical aspects of stagecraft. For more than thirty years this manual has been the essential handbook for both the beginner and the advanced backstage technician.

[this is a circulating book located on the 3rd floor]. This book is a guide to dramaturgy for students. Its practical approach is to "committing acts of dramaturgy," and contains exercises, models, and examples of how the dramaturg works to make his or her thoughtful and creative contributions to a theatrical production, from pre-production work through the rehearsal process The book provides specific exercises, examples, and models to assist the student or emerging dramaturg in developing the ability to: 1) apply critical methodologies (among them literary theory) to production; 2) better communicate with directors, designers and playwrights within the context of rehearsal and production. It includes a case study for analysis, Neil Simon's Biloxi Blues.

Lists stage plays adapted for films. Each of the 300 entries is classified within one of three sections: Dramatic Adaptations, Shakespearean Adaptations, and Musical Adaptations. Each entry includes an overview of the stage play -- title, playwright, plot summary, cast, production notes, criticism -- along with an assessment of related film adaptations. Appendixes include: "Backstage with the Bard"-movies that have been inspired by or are connected to Shakespeare.

Catalogue of silent films adapted from literary, artistic and other media sources, 1896-1915. It includes novels, plays, non-fiction books, short stories, biographies, poems,operas, songs, cartoons and comic strips. The main arrangement is by author/creator, under which the film adaptations are listed chronologically. Films are included from the U.S., UK, France, Germany, Italy, Australia, Canada, Scandinavia, Japan.

Provides information on titles, years, directors, actors, film lengths, and origins of international and silent films based on previous books, plays, short stories, or poems. Films covered are those released from 1895 to 1999 in 83 countries.