Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Theatre

Theatre

Welcome!  This subject guide is a portal to key print and online library subscription resources, and open web content for all aspects of theatre* research-history, performance, production and design, and the industry.
*Theatre as defined in this guide is, drama as acted on the stage.
Note: For links to related subject guides, including Costume research, see the "Library Quick Links" box at the bottom of this page.

Fall 2020 - Library Services & Collections

See Visiting the Howe Library and Fall 2020 Services for more information.

Library Hours:  Sunday-Saturday 10:00 am-6:00 pm (through October 25)
(October 26-November 24): Monday-Thursday 10:00 am-10:00 pm and Friday-Sunday 10:00 am-6:00 pm.

Getting Research Help in Fall 2020

There are a variety of ways to get help remotely from the Howe Library reference librarians during this time.  Have a question?  Please ask us!

Contact me directly through e-mail (Patricia Mardeusz : patricia.mardeusz@uvm.edu) to ask a question or to schedule a time to "meet" virtually for an individual research consultation through Teams. Depending on your specific needs (e.g., not too complex), you may be able to schedule a "chat" session with me.

NOTE: If you want to schedule a "chat" with me individually, e-mail me so we can schedule a time and day. Then use the chat function in my "Profile" box on this page. 

If you need real-time help, use our Ask A Librarian chat service below to ask a question. Beginning August 31, 2020, Reference Chat hours are: Mon-Thurs, 9 am-6 pm and Fri, 9 am-4 pm.  
Note: If you see a message that says "chat unavailable"  during chat "open hours," try refreshing your browser. It may be that two librarians are switching off with one another.

Research Tip

Before you begin searching for books and articles, use the sources (encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.) listed in the two "Starting Points" pages. They will:

  • provide a scholarly yet accessible introduction to your topic in the broadest sense.
  • identify key ideas, themes and important people associated with your topic.
  • introduce unfamiliar terms that you can add to your list of keywords.
  • include a list of books and articles (bibliography) useful for further study.
  • Subject encyclopedias, in particular, may help you either choose or narrow/focus a topic.

Call Numbers that are prefaced with REF (e.g., REF PN 2101 .B68 2008) indicate that the book is in the Reference Collection, located on the main/1st floor of Howe Library. Books in the reference collection are non-circulating, but you may scan pages for free in the library.

Library Quick Links

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Found a citation to a book or journal article that you need, but isn't owned by the library? Obtain the item through Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan's (ILL) service for UVM affiliates will obtain materials (books, articles, book chapters) not owned by the UVM Libraries, from other libraries and document delivery sources. This service is free for UVM students, faculty, and staff. An article is delivered electronically and usually arrives within a few days. Book requests are generally filled within a week. 

If you are making a request for the first time, you will need to register for the service before making a request. View this brief video for instructions on how to register.

Document Delivery (materials owned by UVM Libraries)

UVM students may request scans of articles and book chapters from materials available in Howe Library regular print and microform collections. ILL staff will scan articles or book chapters and deliver them as a PDF to a user's Interlibrary Loan (ILL) portal. There is no fee. Copyright law applies. View this brief video on how to make a request.

Requests for ILL and Document Delivery may be placed online. Log in to your ILL portal using your UVM netid and e-mail password.
If you are making a request for the first time, you will need to register for the service before making a request. View this brief video for instructions on how to register.

Find more details and a link to the ILL and document delivery request forms. There is also a link ("ILL/DD" green button) on the Library homepage.

Working Off Campus?

Use your UVM NetID and password to log in to the UVM network through EZproxy before you begin your research, to access the UVM Libraries' licensed electronic resources, such as article databases, electronic journals, e-books, and more.

Once you're logged in look for "ezproxy.uvm.edu" in the URL of the web page (e.g., http://library.uvm.edu.ezproxy.uvm.edu/) to ensure that you are connected to the UVM network.
NOTEUVM affiliates only after a database name indicates a licensed library database, restricted to UVM affiliates.