This audio resource, produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways, offers listeners access to a wide variety of recorded music and spoken word, including folk songs and world music, poetry, historic events, lectures and language instruction, and music for dance.
The Boston Public Library sound collection includes hundreds of thousands of audio recordings in a variety of historical formats, including wax cylinders, 78 rpms, and LPs. The recordings span many genres, including classical, pop, rock, jazz, and opera – from 78s produced in the early 1900s to LPs from the 1980s.
This resource is a British-based collection of high-definition streaming videos which captures live full-length professional theatre productions from leading theatre companies primarily in Great Britain. It also includes text- and video-based study guides; teaching aids; videos of filmed interviews with actors, etc., associated with the productions; full-text of the Manga Shakespeare series.
This resource is a platform for streaming video, including feature films and documentaries from around the world. Faculty note: please contact Multimedia Services if you need Kanopy videos for teaching, as access varies over time.
This resource provides streaming video access to documentary films, including award-winning productions. It allows users to isolate and annotate clips for scholarly projects and provides full transcripts. It can be browsed by topics, places, or director/producer; or searched by keyword or phrase.
Searchable collection of commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries in streaming video format chronicles American history from the 1890s to the 1980s. Transcripts are included alongside the video, and clips may be created and shared.
(Internet Archive -> Moving Image Archive ->) Sub-collection of the Moving Image Archive. 6,000+ digitized and videotape titles and a large collection of home movies, amateur and industrial films. Its goal remains to collect, preserve, and facilitate access to films of historic significance that haven't been collected elsewhere. Included are films produced by and for many hundreds of important US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions.
Contains thousands of free digital movies uploaded by Archive users which include: classic full-length films, daily alternative news broadcasts, cartoons, and concerts. Many are available for free download.
Provides online access to Europe's television heritage through videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives. Explore selected content from early 1900s to the present.
This site offers videos that use freely available footage and entire performances from theatre companies around the world. They also have a limited collection of archival footage available to scholars by permission for expressly educational purposes.
(from the website) The National Screening Room showcases the riches of the Library’s vast moving image collection, designed to make otherwise unavailable movies, both copyrighted and in the public domain, freely accessible to the viewers worldwide.