Annotated Dictionary of Technical, Historical, and Stylistic Terms Relating to Theatre and Drama : a handbook of dramaturgy
Call Number: REF PN 2035 .W48 1995
General Theatre History
History of the Theatre, 10th ed.
by Oscar G. Brockett; Franklin J. Hildy
Call Number: REF PN 2101 .B68 2008
Often referred to as the "bible" of theatre history; covers theatre from regions worldwide, and from all time periods (ancient world to the present); substantial bibliographies for each chapter are found at the end of the book.
Theatre Histories : an introduction, 2nd ed.
Call Number: REF PN 2101 .T44 2010
A Cultural History of Theatre
by Christopher B. Balme
Call Number: REF PN 2101 .C85 2017 (6 vols)
Presents an authoritative survey from ancient times to the present, covering 2,500 years, tracing the complexity of the interactions between theatre and culture. 1. Antiquity (500 BCE-1000CE) 2. Middle Ages (1000-1400) 3. Early Modern Age (1400-1650) 4. Age of Enlightenment (1650-1800) 5. Age of Empire (1800-1920) 6. Modern Age (1920-2000+). Each vol. discusses the same themes in its chapters: 1. Institutional Frameworks 2. Social Functions 3. Sexuality and Gender 4. The Environment of Theatre 5. Circulation 6. Interpretations 7. Communities of Production 8. Repertoire and Genres 9. Technologies of Performance 10. Knowledge Transmission: Media and Memory.
The Collection: "British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture" features a wide range of primary sources related to the arts in the Victorian era, from playbills and scripts to operas and complete scores.
Revels History of Drama in English
Call Number: REF PR 625 .R44 (8 vols)
Covers theatre and drama in Great Britain and the United States.
The Annals of English Drama, 975-1700
Call Number: REF Z 2014.D7 H25 1989
An analytical record of all plays, extinct or lost, chronologically arranged and indexed by authors, titles and dramatic companies.
v. 1-2. Dramatic companies and players.--v. 3-5. Plays and playwrights.--v. 6. Theatres.--v. 7. Appendixes to volume VI; general index.
Call Number: REF PN 2589 .C4 (4 vols)
Account of the private, public, and court stages, together with other forms of drama and spectacle surviving from earlier times, from the beginning of the Elizabeth's reign until Shakespeare's death.
Table of Contents: VOL IBook I: The Court I: ELIZABETH AND JAMES II: THE ROYAL HOUSEHOLD III: THE REVELS OFFICE IV: PAGEANTRY V: THE MASK VI: THE MASK (continued) VII: THE COURT PLAY. Book II: The Control of the Stage VIII: HUMANISM AND PURITANISM IX: THE STRUGGLE OF COURT AND CITY X: THE ACTOR'S QUALITY XI: THE ACTOR'S ECONOMICS VOL II Book III: The Companies XII: INTRODUCTION: THE BOY COMPANIES XIII: THE ADULT COMPANIES XIV: INTERNATIONAL COMPANIES XV: ACTORS Book IV: The Play-houses XVI: INTRODUCTION: THE PLAY-HOUSES XVII: THE PRIVATE THEATRES XVIII: THE STRUCTURE AND CONDUCT OF THEATRES VOL III XIX: STAGING AT COURT XX: STAGING IN THE THEATRES: SIXTEENTH CENTURY XXI: STAGING IN THE THEATRES: SEVENTEENTH CENTURY Book V: Plays and Playwrights XXII: THE PRINTING OF PLAYS XXIII: PLAYWRIGHTS VOL IV XXIV: ANONYMOUS WORK. APPENDICES. INDEXES: PERSONS, PLAYS, PLACES, SUBJECTS
The London stage, 1660-1800; a calendar of plays, entertainments & afterpieces, together with casts, box-receipts and contemporary comment. Compiled from the playbills, newspapers and theatrical diaries of the period
Call Number: REF PN 1582.G72 L65 (pt. 1-5)
and the Index to the London Stage (5 vols) / REF PN 1582 .G72 L65
London Stage, 1890-1899 : a Calendar of Plays and Players
Call Number: REF PN 2596 .L6 W37 (2 vols)
London Stage, 1900-1909 : a Calendar of Plays and Players
Call Number: REF PN 2596 .L6 W38 (2 vols)
London Stage, 1910-1919 : a Calendar of Plays and Players
Call Number: REF PN 2596 .L6 W383 (2 vols)
London Stage, 1920-1929 : a Calendar of Plays and Players
Call Number: REF PN 2596 .L6 W384 (2 vols)
An Index of Characters in Early Modern English Drama
Call Number: REF PR 1265.3 .B4 1998
Dictionary of Stage Directions in English Drama, 1580-1642
Call Number: REF PR 658.S59 D47 1999
Dramatic Texts and Records of Britain : a chronological topography to 1558
Call Number: REF PN 2585 .L263 1984
This work covers texts and records of dramatic activity for @400 sites in Britain from Roman times to 1558. Grouped in sections - Texts listed chronologically; Records are classified by county, site, and date; Doubtful Texts and Records - entries summarize the contents of each record. This is a survey of almost every type of literary and historical record, document, and work: civic, church, guild, monastic and royal court minutes and financial accounts; national records. Brought together are works in several normally unrelated fields: Roman theatre in Britain; medieval drama; court revels of the Tudors and of their predecessors in England and Scotland; and finally Latin and Greek drama as played in Oxford and Cambridge colleges. An introduction outlines the history of early drama in Britain. Appendixes include indexes of about 335 towns or patrons with travelling players, complete with rough itineraries; about 180 playwrights; and about 320 playing places and buildings.