Pluralism Project at Harvard: America's Many ReligionsStudies and documents the growing religious diversity of the United States. In the section "America's Many Religions" there are portals to various religions. Each portal has resources for exploring the traditions: essays, media, a link to a nationwide directory of religious centers, research reports, a bibliography, links to selected websites, and a news archive.
Ancient/Biblical History -> Hinduism & Buddhism, Judaism, Christianity, Islam, etc.
British Library Online Gallery: Sacred TextsView and explore 78 texts across faiths (Judaism, Christianity,Islam , Hinduism, Zoroastrianism, Buddhism), each with a zoomable high-resolution image, in-depth description, cross-links and more.
Jewish Encyclopedia (1901-1906)This is the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. Contains 15,000+ articles and illustrations. Since the original work was completed @100 years ago, it does not cover a significant portion of modern Jewish History (Holocaust, creation of Israel, etc.).
Codex Sinaiticus ProjectDigital images of the Codex Sinaiticus, written in the middle of the 4th century. Manuscript contains the Christian Bible in Greek, including the oldest complete copy of the New Testament.
A project of the Program in Islamic Law at Harvard Law School, it is a portal into the digital world of Islamic legal studies that aims to provide comprehensive content and context on Islamic law in a way that is accessible and useful.
Islam - Teaching the BasicsPart of TeachMideast (Middle East Policy Council). Guide to resources (websites, books, videos, podcasts, lesson plans and teaching guides).
ArchNetArchnet is a growing open-access repository of visual and textual resources focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world.
ALTafsir.comProvides access to a large online collection of Qur’anic Commentary (tafsir or tafseer), translation, and recitation.
Al-Islam.orgThis site was founded in 1997 by the Ahlul Bayt Digital Islamic Library Project. Most material is in English; some material is also available in Arabic and Kiswahili. The extensive collection includes translations of the Qur'an, biographies of important figures in Islamic history and many more Shi'ite Muslim texts.
Muslim Women’s League"The Muslim Women's League is a non-profit Muslim American organization working to implement the values of Islam and thereby reclaim the status of women as free, equal and vital contributors to society." Includes several articles on Muslim perspectives on women and Islam, and women in the Muslim world.
Muslim Student Association NationalA student run organization that acts as an umbrella organization for all MSAs in the United States. A good resource for those interested in research about the Muslim American community.
Collection of resources for study and practice of Buddhism.
Digital Library & Museum of Buddhist StudiesWebsite offering a history of Buddhism as well as a range of research resources including links to Buddhist libraries, Sutras and language guides and links to relevant organisations.
Lion’s RoarLion’s Roar is an independent non-profit foundation whose stated mission is to communicate Buddhist wisdom and practices in order to benefit people’s lives and our society, and to support the development of Buddhism in the modern world. The website is a portal to variety of information about Buddhism, including links to Buddhist-related news (stories, current events, arts & culture).
TricycleEstablished in 1990 as a non-profit educational organization, the Tricycle Foundation is dedicated to making Buddhist teachings and practices broadly available. In 1991 the Foundation launched Tricycle: The Buddhist Review, the first magazine intended to present Buddhist perspectives to a Western readership. It remains unaffiliated with any particular teacher, sect or lineage.
Journal of Buddhist EthicsA pioneering electronic journal with a focus on Buddhist ethics, the journal web site now includes blog entries related to articles and reviews published in the journal over the past twenty years.
News stories from the Guardian (UK newspaper) website covering Buddhist issues worldwide.
Access to Insight: Readings in Theravada BuddhismThe most comprehensive Internet collection of translated Theravada Buddhist texts, including the work of contemporary Theravadins; provides helpful resources for the close reading of canonical texts.
Encyclopedia of Authentic HinduismBased on the book The True History and the Religion of India, this site is a concise encyclopedia of articles on Hinduism. It "gives complete information about the Hindu (Bhartiya) religion, scripture, history, and their Divinity."