[Print: REF DE 5 .O9 2012] Authoritative scholarly classics dictionary whose articles cover people, places and events in all facets of the classical world in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. The digital version is dynamic, with new and continuously updated articles. Includes additional content such as Maps of the Ancient World, images, and links to related websites. Includes a key to Abbreviations used in the OCD, now standard in the field of Classics.
Encyclopedia of the entire ancient Mediterranean world covering Neolithic through the eighth century CE (i.e., 701-800). Geographic range includes: Greece and Rome, Ancient Near East, Bronze and Iron Age Greece, Jewish history, and Pharaonic Egypt. MAPS: in the "More from this reference work" sidebar, click the link "Maps of the Ancient World."
Provides text descriptions and bibliographic references for works of art produced worldwide from early apostolic times up to the 16th century, with a particular emphasis and focus on art of the western world but an expanding collection of Jewish and Islamic art objects.
Note: The database is both text and image although some works of art may not have an accompanying image. Approximately thirty percent of the images, due to copyright laws, are restricted for public use and cannot be accessed by the public subscriber.
This resource provides access to the complete Encyclopædia Britannica. After entering the database, click "Media Browse" to search across millions of images and videos from the encyclopedia, including the "Philosophy and Religion" collection.
The foremost scholarly art encyclopedia, updated regularly and covering global art and architecture from prehistory to present day. Peer-reviewed articles are accompanied by bibliographies, links to additional resources, and frequently, images.
Religion-Specific - Freely Available on the Internet
Art in the Christian Tradition(Vanderbilt University Divinity School). Database of visual images representing the continuum of the practice of Christianity from the 1st century A.D. to the present. Searchable by keyword, scripture reference, iconographic content, personal name, time period, and geographic location.
Buddhist & Hindu & Shinto
Huntington Photographic Archive of Buddhist and Asian ArtSearchable database of 200,000+ photographs of art and architecture from throughout Asia. The countries included in this collection are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, India, Indonesia, Myanmar (Burma), Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Thailand.
ArchNetArchnet is a growing open-access repository of visual and textual resources focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world.
National Library of Israel - The Center for Jewish Art CollectionBased at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and founded in 1979. The Center's archives and collections constitute the largest and most comprehensive body of information on Jewish art in existence, with @180,000 pictures, sketches and documents. The digitization of the Index is carried out in cooperation with the National Library of Israel and the Judaica Division of the Harvard Library. Over 200,000 items have been digitized and are now freely accessible to the public.
This internationally recognized image database provides access to the California State University IMAGE Project. It contains @100,000 images, is global in coverage, and includes all areas of visual imagery.
Provides free access to 900,000+ images (some in public domain) digitized from the The NYPL's collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs, streaming video, and more. Search by keyword or Browse Collections.
Created by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, provides free online access to world cultural treasures. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare books, musical scores, recordings, films, prints, photographs, and architectural drawings from a variety of countries, covering the time period 8000 BCE-2000 CE.
An all-digital library that aggregates information and thumbnails for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums in the United States.
An online platform through which the public can access high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative’s partner museums worldwide.
Search by keyword, artist, medium, country/place, art movements, historical events, historical figures.
Works in the public domain, distributed on a free-access, free-use basis. Emphasis on ancient, medieval, and the Renaissance in Europe. Created by Allan Kohl from the Minneapolis College of Art & Design, the site is hosted by the University of Michigan's Digital Library.
Brings together the Bodleian Libraries' (Oxford University) discrete digital collections under a single user interface. Includes, but is not restricted to: manuscripts, incunabula, maps, periodicals, printed and manuscript music collections.
Search for images and other Internet content from other established web sites (such as Google Images or YouTube) that the content producers stated could be used commercially and/or with modification. For example, when you use Creative Commons to search Google Images, it will return only those images that are labeled for commercial reuse with modification. (read more about Creative Commons).