UVM Libraries Research Guides: Religion Copy 2: Starting Points: Christianity

Reference Works - Christianity

The books on this page cover all major religions. The print books are located in the Reference Collection [main/1st floor], primarily in Row 2. Browse this area to find additional books. Reference books are non-circulating, but you may scan pages for free in the library.

Encyclopedia of Christianity
Call Number: REF BR 95 .E8913 1999 (5 vols)
The Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, 3rd ed. rev. by F. L. Cross (Editor); E. A. Livingstone (Editor)
Call Number: REF BR 95 .O8 2005
Provides authoritative coverage of theology, patristic scholarship, churches and denominations worldwide, canon law, and the church calendar, as well as entries on theologians, philosophers, artists, musicians, and mystics.

Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church
Based on the Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, 3rd ed. See entry above.

Cambridge Dictionary of Christianity
Call Number: REF BR 95 .C24 2010

Cambridge History of Christianity

The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
Call Number: REF BR 302.8 .O93 1996 (4 vols)

New Catholic Encyclopedia
Call Number: REF BX 841 .N44 2003 (15 vols)
Catholic Encyclopedia 1908 ed.
Objective and ecumenical in tone, with many non-Catholic contributors. The electronic version of the 1908 edition (Catholic Encyclopedia) is partially replaced and superceded by the 2003 edition, but is still important for its more historical points of view.
New SCM Dictionary of Liturgy and Worship Topics cover all aspects of the practice and theology of worship. Although heavily weighted toward Christianity (particularly the Lutheran, Anglican, and Roman Catholic traditions), there are entries outlining worship practices of other religions (e.g., Buddhist, Hindu, Islamic, Jewish, Shinto). Entries range from a paragraph to several pages in length; most include short bibliographies.
Call Number: REF BV 173 .N483 2013

Reference Works - Bible

Anchor Bible Dictionary
Call Number: REF BS 440 .A54 1992 (6 vols)
Definitive encyclopedia covering names, places, and events of the Bible as well as cultural history, social institutions, archaeological sites, and other topics of interest to biblical scholars.

Oxford Companion to the Bible
Print: REF BS 440 .M434 1993. Pprovides an authoritative one-volume reference to the people, places, events, books, institutions, religious belief, and secular influence of the Bible. Entries range from brief identifications to extensive interpretive essays.
Dictionary of the Bible
With over 2,000 authoritative entries, it provides clear and concise information about all of the important places, people, themes, and doctrines of the Bible.

HarperCollins Bible Dictionary
Call Number: REF BS 440 .H235 1996
HarperCollins Bible Commentary
Call Number: REF BS 491.2 .H37 2000
New Cambridge History of the Bible
Call Number: Print: REF BS 445 .N49 2013 (4 vols)

Oxford guide to people & places of the Bible
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Gender Studies
This encyclopedia explores the ways in which gender and sexuality are constructed in the texts, cultures, and readers that constitute “the world of the Bible,” tracing both historical and modern conceptions. Substantive entries are written by scholars in gender and biblical studies as well as contemporary gender theorists, classicists, archaeologists, and ancient historians.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Greek Language and Linguistics
Research tool for scholars and students of Greek, of linguistics, and of other Indo-European languages, as well as of Biblical literature. Brings together the latest research from across a range of disciplines which contribute to our knowledge of Ancient Greek.

Note: other titles on this page cover topics relating to the Bible.

Atlases & Gazetteers

Oxford Bible Atlas
Call Number: REF BS 630 .O96 2009
Zondervan Atlas of the Bible
Call Number: REF BS 630 .R37 2010
Macmillan Bible Atlas
Call Number: REF G 2230 .A2 1993
Harper Atlas of the Bible
Call Number: REF QUARTO G 2230 .H47 1987

Columbia gazetteer of the world
Encyclopedia of geographical places and features - ancient and modern.