This resource is a searchable database of full-text Latin texts from ancient times (Livius Andronicus, 240 B.C.) through to the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). Note: After entering this database, click "All Products" at the very top of the screen. Select Library of Latin Texts-Series A and Library of Latin Texts-Series B from the list.
This resource is the electronic version of the complete printed text of Acta Sanctorum, which is a collection of documents, written in Latin, examining the lives of the saints (hagiography), organized according to each saint's feast day. It includes all prefatory material and original texts with critical commentaries on the source documents. It is cross-searchable with Patrologia Latina Database.
This resource is the electronic version of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina and indexes. It comprises the works of the Church Fathers (e.g., patristic works) from Tertullian (A.D. 200) to the death of Pope Innocent III (A.D.1216). It is cross-searchable with Acta Sanctorum
This resource provides access to the full text of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Graeca and indexes, which is an edited collection of writings by the Christian Church Fathers and various secular writers, published in Greek with Latin translations. The content covers the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439.
This resource provides full-text of over 500 volumes of original ancient Greek and Latin texts (from 800 B.C. to A.D. 1000) alongside their modern English translations. Works include poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; medical writers and mathematicians; and those Church fathers who made particular use of pagan culture. An integrated Greek keyboard aids in searching the Greek texts.
This resource provides searchable access to literary and historical works in all subjects printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere, from 1473-1700.
ProQuest-generated (vendor) GUIDE to searching this database.
The titles in this multidisciplinary series offer authoritative surveys of original research in a particular subject area. Specially commissioned essays from recognized scholars in the discipline give critical examinations of the progress and direction of debates, as well as a foundation for future research. Note: There are many titles in this series--available to UVM affiliates--that are specifically devoted to religion or have substantial content devoted to various topics in religion. To view a list of titles in Religion--> enter the database-> in the "Subject" section at the top of the screen, click "Religion"-> in the list of results, click the tab at the top that tells you the number of Books->when viewing the title list, in the left side-bar, tick the box next to "Unlocked." A green padlock icon indicates a book that UVM provides.
Online searchable collection of scholarly texts on 15 academic subjects, including history, literature, religion, philosophy, music and the arts. Full-text content is available for each title; many comprise multiple volumes.The titles listed below may be of particular interest.
Print: REF BL 2525 .C354 2012 (3 volumes)
Traces the historical development of religious traditions in America, following both their transplantation from other parts of the world and the inauguration of new religious movements in North America. V. 1 extends from prehistoric times until 1790. V. 2 focuses on the time period 1790-1945. V. 3 examines the religious situation in the U.S. from the end of World War II to the 21st century, contextualized in the larger North American context.