UVM Libraries Research Guides: Religion Copy 2: Starting Points: Judaism

Judaism

The books on this page cover all major religions. The print books are located in the Reference Collection [main/1st floor], primarily in Row 2. Browse this area to find additional books. Reference books are non-circulating, but you may scan pages for free in the library.

Encyclopaedia Judaica (2nd ed)
[Print: REF REF DS 102.8 .E496 [1972] (16 vols plus supplements, 1973-1990/91)] Encyclopedia of Jewish religion and culture in the Diaspora and in Israel. Contains articles on a variety of secular and religious subjects.
Cambridge History of Judaism
Online: vols 1-4. also, Print: BM 155.2 .C35 1984 (vols 1-4, 7-8) [2nd floor]
Concise Companion to the Jewish Religion
Oxford Handbook of Jewish Studies

New Encyclopedia of Judaism Comprehensive one-volume encyclopedia that presents every aspect of the Jewish religion and represents current thinking among scholars in the Reform, Conservative, and Orthodox movements. Includes biographical profiles; commentaries on selected prayers; coverage of folklore and traditions; essays on contemporary issues, such as women's roles.
Call Number: REF BM 50 .E63 2002
Cambridge Dictionary of Judaism and Jewish Culture Authoritative source which defines the spiritual and intellectual concepts and religious movements that distinguish Judaism and the Jewish experience. Essays explore Jewish history from ancient times to the present and consider all aspects of Judaism, including religious practices and rituals, legal teachings and legendary traditions and rationalism, mysticism and messianism, secular and political movements and achievements and delineate Jewish endeavors in areas including the arts, sciences, sports, etc.
Call Number: REF BM 50 .C26 2011

Bible

Anchor Bible Dictionary
Call Number: REF BS 440 .A54 1992 (6 vols)
Definitive encyclopedia covering names, places, and events of the Bible as well as cultural history, social institutions, archaeological sites, and other topics of interest to biblical scholars.

Oxford Companion to the Bible
Print: REF BS 440 .M434 1993
Dictionary of the Bible

HarperCollins Bible Dictionary
Call Number: REF BS 440 .H235 1996
HarperCollins Bible Commentary
Call Number: REF BS 491.2 .H37 2000
New Cambridge History of the Bible
Call Number: Print: REF BS 445 .N49 2013 (4 vols)

Oxford Handbook of Biblical Studies
Oxford guide to people & places of the Bible
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Bible and Gender Studies This encyclopedia explores the ways in which gender and sexuality are constructed in the texts, cultures, and readers that constitute “the world of the Bible,” tracing both historical and modern conceptions. Substantive entries are written by scholars in gender and biblical studies as well as contemporary gender theorists, classicists, archaeologists, and ancient historians.

Note: other titles on this page cover topics relating to the Bible.

Atlases & Gazetteers

Routledge Atlas of Jewish History
Call Number: REF G 1030 .G46 2010
Oxford Bible Atlas
Call Number: REF BS 630 .O96 2009
Zondervan Atlas of the Bible
Call Number: REF QUARTO BS630 .R37 2010
Macmillan Bible Atlas
Call Number: REF G 2230 .A2 1993
Harper Atlas of the Bible
Call Number: REF QUARTO G 2230 .H47 1987

Columbia gazetteer of the world
Encyclopedia of geographical places and features - ancient and modern.