UVM Libraries Research Guides: English & American Literature : 19th Century: Home

19th Century

Welcome! This subject guide is a portal to key print and online library subscription resources, and open web content that support research for 19th century literature, covering all genres (prose, poetry, drama). Additionally, this guide includes resources that provide the historical, cultural, and social milieus which informed and were reflected in the literature of the U.S. and Great Britain during the 19th century. It is a satellite of the main subject guide to English & American Literature which supports general literary research across all eras and genres as well as the 20th-21st centuries specifically.

Getting Research Help

There are a variety of ways to get help remotely from the Howe Library reference librarians. Please ask us! Use the "Ask a Librarian" service.

Ask A Librarian connects you with librarians in a variety of different ways

Email: howeref@uvm.edu

Chat

Schedule a Research Consultation

Text: (802) 503-1703

Research Tip

Before you begin searching for books and articles, use the sources (encyclopedias, handbooks, etc.) listed in the two "Starting Points" pages. They will:

provide a scholarly yet accessible introduction to your topic in the broadest sense.
identify key ideas, themes and important people associated with your topic.
introduce unfamiliar terms that you can add to your list of keywords.
include a list of books and articles (bibliography) useful for further study.
Subject encyclopedias, in particular, may help you either choose or narrow/focus a topic.

Call Numbers that are prefaced with REF (e.g., REF PR 9080 .A52 E53 2005) indicate that the book is in the Reference Collection, located on the main/1st floor of Howe Library. Books in the reference collection are non-circulating, but you may scan pages for free in the library.

Library Quick Links

English & American Literature Guide Primary subject guide for general and 20th-21st century research in English and American literature (including drama)
English & American Literature: Medieval-18th Century
English & American Literature : African American Literature
Book Reviews Guide Guide to online and print multidisciplinary sources for locating book reviews in magazines, journals, and newspapers.
Theatre

Literary Research Guide Selective, annotated guide to reference sources essential to the study of British literature, literatures of the U.S., other literatures in English, and related topics (e.g., composition and rhetoric, film and literature, etc.). Important bibliographies, abstracts, surveys of research, indexes, databases, catalogs, general histories and surveys, annals, chronologies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks are described and often evaluated.

All these books are on the 3rd floor in Howe Library. They may be checked out of the library (i.e. circulating).

Literary Research and the Era of American Nationalism and Romanticism
Call Number: PS 217.R6 C68 2008 (3rd floor)
Spans period @close of colonial rule to the onset of the U.S. Civil War.
Literary Research and the British Romantic Era
Call Number: PR 457 .K44 2005 (3rd floor)
Spans @1775-1830.
Literary Research and the Victorian and Edwardian Ages, 1830-1910
Call Number: PR 461 .V35 2011 (3rd floor)
Literary Research and the American Realism and Naturalism Period
Call Number: PS 217 .R4 S74 2009 (3rd floor)
Spans @1861-1914.
Literary Research and British Modernism
Call Number: PR 478 .M6 L45 2010 (3rd floor)
Spans @1880-1945.
Literary Research and Irish Literature
Call Number: PR 8711 .M38 2009 (3rd floor)
Covers all periods.

Research Databases - English
Journal Titles Provided by the UVM Libraries
Determine if the library owns a journal (online or print) and what years are owned.
Note: to access ejournals from off campus, you must have first clicked on Connect Off Campus (a green button on the library homepage) and have logged in with your UVM netid and password.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Found a citation to a book or journal article that you need, but isn't owned by the library? Obtain the item through Interlibrary Loan.

Interlibrary Loan's (ILL) service for UVM affiliates will obtain materials (books, articles, book chapters) not owned by the UVM Libraries, from other libraries and document delivery sources. This service is free for UVM students, faculty, and staff. An article is delivered electronically and usually arrives within a few days. Book requests are generally filled within a week.

Document Delivery (materials owned by UVM Libraries)

UVM students may request scans of articles and book chapters from materials available in Howe Library regular print and microform collections. ILL staff will scan articles or book chapters and deliver them as a PDF to a user's Interlibrary Loan (ILL) portal. There is no fee. Copyright law applies.

Requests for ILL and Document Delivery may be placed online. Log in to your ILL portal using your UVM netid and e-mail password.

Find more details and a link to the ILL and document delivery request forms. There is also a link ("ILL/DD" green button) on the Library homepage.

Working Off Campus?

Use your UVM NetID and password to log in to the UVM network through EZproxy before you begin your research, to access the UVM Libraries' licensed electronic resources, such as article databases, electronic journals, e-books, and more.

Once you're logged in look for "ezproxy.uvm.edu" in the URL of the web page (e.g., http://library.uvm.edu.ezproxy.uvm.edu/) to ensure that you are connected to the UVM network.
NOTE: UVM affiliates only after a database name indicates a licensed library database, restricted to UVM affiliates.