Published by Johns Hopkins University Press for the American Studies Association (ASA), this title covers the history, philosophy, arts, and cultures of the United States in relation to the world, from pre-colonial days to the present, from various perspectives and the global American Studies movement.
Encyclopedia of American Social History
Call Number: REF HN 57 .E58 1993 (3 vols)
This reference focuses on processes and people - how they chose sites for towns and built their homes, how they led their lives, how they modified and were modified by their physical surroundings. Race, gender, ethnicity, work, culture, technology, education, and family history are included.
Portal to full-text information (biographies, encyclopedias, companions, primary sources), images and maps about African Americans, African American life and culture, and Africa and the diaspora. This resource has over 600 subject entries on literature- and language-related topics.
Examines the anthropological, sociological, historical, economic, and scientific theories of race and racism in the modem era. Delves into the historic origins of ideas of race and racism and explores their social and scientific consequences. Includes biographies of significant theorists, as well as political and social leaders.
Encyclopedia of the Gilded Age and Progressive Era
Call Number: REF E 661 .E53 2005 (3 vols)
Spanning the era from the end of Reconstruction (1877) to 1920, the entries of this reference were chosen with attention to the people, events, inventions, political developments, organizations, and other forces that led to significant changes in the U.S. in that era. Seventeen initial stand-alone essays describe as many themes, including technology.
The Encyclopedia of New England : the culture and history of an American region
Call Number: REF F 4 .E53 2005
Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
Call Number: REF E 77 .G15 1998 (4 vols)
Providing essays on the history, culture and current status of approximately 400 Native American groups, this work is divided into four geographic volumes. An overview essay introduces each of the ten regions covered, giving a geographic perspective on the tribes covered, as well as insights on cultural and tribal communalities. Individual tribal entries follow alphabetically. Also featured are biographical profiles of prominent tribal leaders.
In 800+ analytical articles, explores developments in the literature, thought, music, and art that influenced the profound changes in thought and sensibility during the second half of the eighteenth century and the first half of the nineteenth century.
Handbooks and Companions - Historical, Social, & Cultural Contexts