Skip to main content
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Book Reviews

Collection of selected multidisciplinary print and subscription electronic resources that provide citations to book reviews or full-text book reviews.

Book Review Guide - Scope

Collection of library-owned multidisciplinary print and online sources for scholarly*, critical, and general interest book reviews in all disciplines, from the 19th century to present - in scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers.

Some online resources provide full-text book reviews; some provide full-text reviews and citations to reviews; some provide only citations to reviews. A citation provides the information needed to locate the book review.  Note:    If unable to locate a book review using the resources in this guide, please ask for assistance at the Reference Desk, use the Ask-a-Librarian service, or contact me.

*About Scholarly Reviews

Scholarly reviews are written for scholars by scholars. These reviews place the book within the scholarly discourse, compare the book to other works in the field, and analyze the author's methodology, interpretations, and conclusions. Due to this amount of engagement with the book, reviews of academic titles may appear two or three years after publication of the book. Scholarly reviews will be published in journals and tend to be longer.  Books are selectively chosen to be reviewed in scholarly journals.
Language adapted, with permission, from the Book Review Guide, Williams College Library (library.williams.edu).

TIPS

  • Subject-specific article databases (e.g., Historical Abstracts) often include citations to or full-text book reviews. Use both the Subject  and Info Types limits in the Research Databases list to find these article databases.
  • Not every book gets reviewed.
  • In print book review sources, reviews do not always appear in the year of publication. Consult the index volume for the publication year but also volumes for a few years following the publication date.

It is useful when looking for book reviews to know the:

Book author's full name
Book's complete title
Publication year of the book

To find this information, check one of the following:

Off-Campus Access to Databases

Find it at UVM

When searching for articles using UVM article databases, watch for this icon:

Use this button to help you:

  1. link directly to the article, or
  2. link to the journal's homepage, or
  3. determine whether the library has that journal and year in print format, or
  4. link to a search of the Library Catalog to see if we own the journal, or
  5. link to an interlibrary loan (ILL) form

Liaison Librarian

Patricia Mardeusz's picture
Patricia Mardeusz
Contact:
Information & Instruction Services
Bailey/Howe Library
Room 049 (ground floor)
University of Vermont
patricia.mardeusz@uvm.edu
802-656-5718