This resource is a searchable database of literary biographies written by recognized literary scholars and critics, profiling past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights worldwide from every era.
Preeminent British biographical source. Scholarly essays about deceased, noteworthy persons from the earliest times to the present who were born and lived in the British Isles or its territories or who visited or settled in the British Isles for significant periods. Also provides access to essays in the Dictionary of National Biography, published in the late 19th/early 20th century. When available, entry cross-links to the person's biography in the American National Biography. NOTE: The online version has shorter essays and is designed as a complement to the print version (both editions):
Dictionary of National Biography (multivolume) / REF DA 28 .D4
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (multivolume) / REF DA 28 .O95
This database contains biographical profiles of significant writers worldwide from all eras and literary genres. It also includes full-length or excerpted literary criticism articles and book reviews from scholarly journals and magazines, book chapters, and reference books. It also includes overviews of literary topics and work overviews (plots, themes, characters).
Biography in ContextCollection of electronic versions of many major print biography Reference Books, with related full-text articles from magazines and newspapers. Search for full-text information on people - both current and historic from all eras and fields of endeavor.
Native North American Literature : biographical and critical information on native writers and orators from the United States and Canada from historical times to the present
Call Number: REF PS 508 .I5 N38 1994
A comprehensive source of bibliographical and critical information covering native American authors and other originators of literatures in the Native North American tradition. The book describes oral traditions as well as written literature.