English & American Literature : 19th Century

This full-text collection includes hundreds of American newspapers from all 50 states published between 1690 and 1999 (most coverage is for dates prior to 1924). Papers are presented as full-image PDFs and include news, editorials, advertisements, and more.

This open source collection includes digitized local newspapers from all regions of the U.S. and provides a number of ethnic and foreign language titles. Papers are presented as full image PDFs and include news, editorials, advertisements, and more. Dates of publication range from the late 18th century through 1963.

This resource provides access to Harper's Weekly (1857-1912), America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper, well-known for its political and editorial cartoons. Materials can be located by browsing dates, searching for keywords, or using Finding Aids to explore predefined topics.

This resource includes a variety of primary source materials relating to U.S. history from the 18th through the early 20th centuries. The collection includes newspapers, magazines, county histories, books, and more. Note: most materials in this collection are text (not image-based) versions of the originals.

This resource provides access to newspapers by and/or for African Americans. Significant titles include: Freedom's Journal, the first African American newspaper published in the US; Frederick Douglass' Paper; and the Washington Bee. Explore historical events related to the anti-slavery movement, the great migration, the modern civil rights movement, and more. Search or browse the collection to find news articles, letters to the editor, advertisements, images, and editorials.

This database provides historical access to the New York Times (1851-2018). The paper is fully digitized in PDF format and includes news articles, editorials, cartoons, advertisements, and more.

This database provides access to the Washington Post (1877-2006), a leading source for news on foreign events and policy. The paper is in PDF format and includes accompanying illustrations, advertisements, and photographs.

This resource provides access to full-text articles published in the Chicago Tribune (1849-1998). The paper is in PDF format and includes news reports, editorials and editorial cartoons, advertisements, reviews, obituaries, and illustrations and photographs.

This resource provides historical access to the Los Angeles Times (1881-1997). Materials are in PDF format and include illustrations, advertisements, and photographs.

This resource provides full-text access to The Times (of London).

This resource provides access to the Sunday Times of London (1822-2006).

This database provides digital access to the British newspapers the Guardian (1821-2003) and the Observer (1791-2003).

This database provides access to national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of British society during the long 19th century.