UVM Libraries Research Guides: Food Systems: Find Articles

Finding Articles: Overview

Researching food systems can be highly complex; relevant content is often found in resources from a variety of disciplines. See below for some suggested article databases (interdisciplinary, subject-specific, and related ares) to get started. If you need help or additional suggestions, please contact your librarian at christie.silkotch@uvm.edu.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
(dates of coverage vary) Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database that contains information across disciplines, including agriculture, environmental studies, business, economics, and nutrition.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to a variety of resources including scholarly journals, international newspapers, business information and dissertations.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly and professional literature in a wide range of social science areas, including anthropology, economics, public administration, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
(dates of coverage vary) Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to the scholarly literature across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, including journal articles, conference proceedings, symposia, and workshops.

Subject Databases

AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
This resource, created by the National Agricultural Library, provides comprehensive access to U.S. agricultural and life science information, including journal articles, books chapters, monographs, theses, patents, and technical reports. AGRICOLA covers all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary compendium of databases that covers broadly: agriculture, environmental sciences, pollution, energy, ecology, air and water quality, policy issues. It includes references to journal articles, reports, books, conference proceedings and government publications. The default search screen searches across multiple databases. It contains citations with abstracts and some links to full text.

AgEcon Search (University of Minnesota)
(dates of coverage vary) AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of scholarly literature (journal articles conference papers, and working papers) in agricultural and applied economics.

Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
(1970-present) Alt Press Watch is a news database, covering grassroots newspapers, magazines, journals and other information sources that are alternative to mainstream media perspectives. Topics covered include public policy, local foods, and environmental activism.

CAB Abstracts and Global Health (CABI)
(1973-present) This database broadly covers scholarly literature in the life sciences and environment, including agriculture, applied economics, food safety, and nutrition. Global Health package covers international and community-level scholarly literature in public health, including rural development and health policy.

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
(dates of coverage vary) Environment Complete has broadly scholarly coverage in agriculture, ecosystem ecology, renewable energy sources, natural resources, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.

GreenFile (EBSCO)
(1913-present) GreenFile provides access to scholarly and popular environmental resources, including journals, government documents, and reports, covering topics such as sustainable agriculture, recycling and renewable energy.
USDA Economics, Statistics and Market Information System (ESMIS) (Cornell University)
(dates of coverage vary) This database includes reports and datasets related to U.S. and international agriculture, including commodities, field crops, livestock, dairy and poultry, specialty agriculture, and market news.

Additional Databases

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
This resource, one of the largest business databases, contains citations and some full-text articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines, and newspapers (including full-text articles from the Wall Street Journal back to 1984), as well as full-text business cases, conference proceedings, and dissertations.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
(1969-present) EconLit is a scholarly literature database, providing access to journal articles, book reviews, working papers and dissertations in the field of economics, including consumer behavior and economic development.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
(dates of coverage vary) LexisNexis is a multidisciplinary database that includes a wide selection of information sources, including regional and national newspapers and wire services, broadcast transcripts, U.S. federal and state case law, codes and regulations, company financial reports and SEC filings, and public opinion poll results.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
(1952-present) This database provides access to scholarly information (journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers) in sociology and related fields, including social movements, rural and community development, and social relationships.

Related Research Guides

The study of food systems is highly interdisciplinary. Please see the following guides from UVM Libraries for additional relevant resources:

Working Off Campus?

Log on to EZproxy with your UVM NetID and password to access UVM Libraries' electronic resources, including databases, full-text journal articles, e-books, and more.

Look Up A Citation

Find Journals
Search by journal title to see if UVM Libraries subscribes

If we don't have access, use interlibrary loan to request any journal article and we will send it to you!

Find It@UVM

Some databases have the full text of an article; otherwise, look for the Find it@UVM button.

Use this button to:

1) Search the Libraries' collections for the full-text version of an article, online or in print.
2) Submit an interlibrary loan request when we do not have the full-text version.