Food Systems

"The current farm law, the Agriculture Improvement Act of 2018 (2018 Farm Act), was signed on December 20, 2018, and will remain in force through 2023, although some provisions extend beyond 2023. The 2018 Farm Act makes few major changes in agricultural and food policy. Nutrition policy, particularly the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), will continue with minor changes. Crop insurance options and agricultural commodity programs will exist much as under the 2014 Farm Act. All major conservation programs are continued, although some are modified significantly. Programs are expanded for trade, research and extension, energy, specialty crops, organic agriculture, local and regional foods, and beginning/socially disadvantaged/veteran farmers and ranchers."

See this research guides for additional legal resources.

includes over 1500 key federal agricultural legislative histories from 1921-1971. This collection contains: Public laws, bills, hearings, Congressional reports, digests, and excerpts from the Congressional Record; Vetoed laws; USDA notations, papers, and reports not found elsewhere

The United States government has published dietary advice for more than one hundred years. The National Agricultural Library has collected, digitized, and united more than 2,000 including historical nutrition education materials, such as posters, recipes, and radio transcripts, as well as current nutrition education materials.

The Farmers’ Legal Action Group is a “nonprofit law center dedicated to providing legal services and support to family farmers and their communities in order to help keep family farmers on the land.” Their website provides legal information about organic farming, disaster assistance, and agricultural contracts, as well as links to numerous publications on a variety of topics, including conservation programs and family farming.

The U.S. House of Representatives Committee on Agriculture’s website provides access to press releases, hearings, and legislation related to agriculture, including publications from the Subcommittee on Nutrition and Horticulture (formerly the Subcommittee on Horticulture and Organic Agriculture), which is responsible for organic agriculture, direct-marketing initiatives, and nutrition and consumer programs.

National AgLaw Center’s library of subject-based “reading rooms" -- each contains a comprehensive list of current electronic resources for an agricultural or food law topic.

The National Sustainable Agriculture Coalition is an advocacy organization that seeks federal policy reform to “advance the sustainability of agriculture, food systems, natural resources, and rural communities.” In particular, their website provides information on “Marketing, Food Systems & Rural Development,” including local and regional food systems, organic production, farm-to-school programming, and food security issues.

The U.S. Senate Committee on Agriculture, Nutrition & Forestry’s website provides access to legislation, hearings and news items related to agriculture, including information from the Subcommittee on Hunger, Nutrition and Family Farms, which is responsible for local and healthy food initiatives and hunger prevention and school and child nutrition programs.