UVM Libraries Research Guides: Film & Television Studies: Associations &amp; Organizations

Scholarly

Film Studies Association of Canada
Society for Cinema & Media Studies
"Devoted to the scholarly study of film, television, video, and new media."

Labor/Trade Unions

Professional - United States

Links to Industry Organizations (from Writers Guild of America West)
Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences
Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
American Film Institute
Motion Picture Association of America (MPAA)
African American Film Critics Association (AAFCA)
American Screenwriters Association
ASC: The American Society of Cinematographers
Film Foundation
Filmmakers for film preservation
Broadcast Film Critics Association
Broadcast Television Journalists Association
Film Independent
Film at Lincoln Center
Hollywood Foreign Press Association
Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA)
National Film Preservation Board
Board responsible for annually selecting "culturally, historically or aesthetically significant films" for preservation in the Library of Congress' (LOC) National Film Registry. Board advises the LOC on its national film preservation planning policy. This site includes a link to the films listed in the National Film Registry (film title, year of release, year entered into the Register).
National Society of Film Critics
New York Film Critics Circle
SDSA: Set Decorators Society of America
TCA: Television Critics Association
Women in Film
Women in Film and Video (Washington D.C.)

Professional - International (Selected)

FIAF (International Federation of Film Archives)
Brings together institutions dedicated to rescuing films both as cultural heritage and as historical documents.
Association of Film Commissioners International
Association of Moving Image Archivists (AMIA)
International Affiliation of Writers Guilds (IAWG)
International Federation of Television Archives (FIAT/IFTA)
International Screenwriters' Association (ISA)
International Documentary Association
European Audiovisual Observatory This organization is part of the Council of Europe in Strasbourg, France. The Observatory was created in 1992 in order to collect and distribute information about the audiovisual industries in Europe. Amongst other goals, it aims to provide a clearer understanding of the ways in which the audiovisual industries in Europe function, both from an economic and legal point of view.
Media Salles Founded in 1991, MEDIA Salles is an initative of the EU MEDIA Programme with the support of the Italian Government. The Association concern is the promotion of European films through information and training, and provides statistics on trends in cinema-going for all European countries and the leading world markets.
British Academy of Film & Television Arts (BAFTA)
British Film Institute (BFI)
British Board of Film Classification
Royal Television Society
National Film Board of Canada An agency of the Government of Canada, the NFB is Canada's public film and digital media producer and distributor, producing and distributing documentary films, animation, web documentaries, and alternative dramas. The NFB has uploaded for free viewing for personal use thousands of films from its archive going back to 1939. it also provides written commentaries on many of its films,
Screen Australia Screen Australia is the Australian Federal Government's key funding body for the Australian screen production industry. It supports the development, production, promotion and distribution of Australian narrative and documentary screen content. Includes industry news; information about festivals and upcoming productions; a searchable database of Australian film and television titles.