Film & Television Studies

Library of Congress-maintained portal to moving image archives and research centers worldwide.

Board responsible for annually selecting "culturally, historically or aesthetically significant films" for preservation in the Library of Congress' (LOC) National Film Registry. Advises the LOC on its national film preservation planning policy. Site includes a link to the films listed in the National Film Registry .

Non-profit created by the U.S. Congress to help save America's film heritage, It's priority is to preserve American films that would be unlikely to survive without public support.

The only national arts organization devoted to film, television and video. The American Film Institute serves as a point of national focus and coordination for the many individuals and institutions concerned with the moving image as art.

Gateway to high quality online resources related to film, television, and digital media.

Collection of online videos of unscripted interviews with t.v. "pioneers and legends" (actors, broadcast journalists, directors, producers, costumers, etc.) provided by The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation.

Its mission is to "collect, preserve, and present historic and contemporary radio and television content as well as educate, inform, and entertain the public through its archives, public programs, screenings, exhibits, publications, and online access to its resources." Search the MBC Online Collections Database.

An agency of the Government of Canada, the NFB is Canada's public film and digital media producer and distributor, producing and distributing documentary films, animation, web documentaries, and alternative dramas. The NFB has uploaded for free viewing for personal use thousands of films from its archive going back to 1939. it also provides written commentaries on many of its films,

Brings together institutions dedicated to rescuing films both as cultural heritage and as historical documents.

Library of Congress-maintained portal to moving image archives and research centers worldwide.

This is a database containing credits and holdings information about the silent-era film holdings of film archives from around the world. Online searchable version found in FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals . From the main page, click "Publications."  On the next page, enter treasures in the search box. You'll be able to search the book at that point.

EU-funded portal to the digital collections of 35+ European film archives. Offers free access to digital videos, photographs, magic lantern slides, film posters, and text materials.

View many documents through the Archives' online exhibitions. The displays cover various periods using photographs, documents and film. Browse by Name and by Historical Period.

The Moving Image Archive is Scotland's national collection of moving image and is held at the National Library. You can watch clips and full-length films from the collection, as well as read biographical profiles of individual filmmakers.

Preserved by the BFI National Film Archive, this is an archive of 100+ short documentary films made by the British Council during the 1940s designed to show the world how wartime Britain lived, worked and played.

This German archive preserves more than 500 hours of historical footage over the past 100 years, focussing on historical footage of Cologne and the Rhineland. The archive also own historical footage worldwide, covering various topics (sightseeing, events, culture, news, history and sports).

Digital archive of avant-garde film and video.