UVM Libraries Research Guides: Film & Television Studies: Newspapers

Caveat

In most of these newspaper databases, when you select "Reviews" as the Document type, you will retrieve book and theatre reviews as well as film and television reviews. You will have to look carefully at each citation to determine why type of review it is.

Newspaper Databases

Newspapers
Complete list of full-text newspaper databases (current and historical) subscribed to by the UVM Libraries. Path: Library homepage->Research Databases->All Info Types-> [newspapers]

Selected Current Newspapers - Full-Text

ProQuest Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Search full-text U.S. and international news content,1980s-present, featuring top newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This full-text resource contains articles from national/regional/international newspapers, magazines, journals, law reviews, and wire services; broadcast transcripts; U.S. federal and state case law, codes, and regulations; company financial reports; patents; and SEC filings.
New York Times (all digital access) This link opens in a new window
This link provides access to UVM's institutional subscription to the New York Times website (excluding premium content such as the crossword and NYTimes Cooking). After accessing via a UVM Libraries link, UVM affiliates may create an individual account and login. (This account will need to be reactivated via a library link periodically.) Anonymized access is available at the Howe Library; contact the Reference Desk for more information.

New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast)
Full text coverage: June 1980-present.
Seven Days (Vermont's Independent Voice)

Selected Historical Newspapers - Full-Text

New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers, 1851-rolling end date) This link opens in a new window
View full-text individual articles and full-page images of the paper. To find film reviews: enter search terms; in the "Document type" category, select "Review" from the list.
Los Angeles Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers, 1881- rolling end date) This link opens in a new window
View full-text individual articles and full-page images of the paper. To find film reviews: enter search terms; in the "Document type" category, select "Review" from the list.

British Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the Guardian and the Observer This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text access to the British newspapers the Guardian (1821-2003) and the Observer (1791-2003). To find film reviews: enter search terms; in the "Document type" category, select "Review" from the list.
Times Digital Archive (London, 1785-rolling end date) This link opens in a new window
This resource provides full-text access to The Times (of London).
Sunday Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
This resource provides full-text access to the Sunday Times of London (1822-2006).
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable database of cover-to-cover, full-text content of the Times Literary Supplement (TLS) since 1902. Previous 5 years unavailable.