UVM Libraries Research Guides: Film & Television Studies: Box Office, Research, Ratings (Websites)

Research & Reference

Museum of the Moving Image - Research Guide
Created and maintained by the Museum of the Moving Image. "Gateway to the best online resources related to film, television, and digital media." Note: some resources in the guide are not available to the general public.
UCLA Film & Television
This guide suggests resources for the study of film and television, including catalogs, reference sources, article databases, and other relevant collections and tools.
Moving Image Resource Center (Library of Congress)
Moving Image Resource Center (Library of Congress) - Online Resources
Links to useful online resources, institutions, and information related to the subjects of film and television.
Library of Congress - Television Resources
Links to various network and cable programming providers.
ScreenSite
Facilitates the teaching and research of film/tv/new media and is designed principally for educators and students.
Margaret Herrick Library - Databases From the library affiliated with the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences. Search across multiple databases in one step: Periodical Articles, Manuscript Inventories, Photograph Inventories, Production Art, Production Files.
Archive of American Television Collection of online videos of unscripted interviews with t.v. "pioneers and legends" (actors, broadcast journalists, directors, producers, costumers, etc.) provided by The Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation.
USA Television Directory
Directory of USA Television Stations: Local Television, Cable Channels, Satellite Television and More.
European Audiovisual Observatory This organization is part of the Council of Europe in Strasbourg, France. The Observatory was created in 1992 in order to collect and distribute information about the audiovisual industries in Europe. Amongst other goals, it aims to provide a clearer understanding of the ways in which the audiovisual industries in Europe function, both from an economic and legal point of view.
BFI (British Film Institute) The British Film Institute (BFI) is a film and charitable organization which promotes and preserves filmmaking and television in the UK, through activities such as maintaining and caring for the BFI National Archive, an internationally significant film and television archive. Sponsored by the Department of Digital, Culture, Media and Sport, it utilizes lottery funds to encourage film production, distribution, and education.
British Council - Film
National Film Board of Canada An agency of the Government of Canada, the NFB is Canada's public film and digital media producer and distributor, producing and distributing documentary films, animation, web documentaries, and alternative dramas. The NFB has uploaded for free viewing for personal use thousands of films from its archive going back to 1939. it also provides written commentaries on many of its films,
Screen Australia Screen Australia is the Australian Federal Government's key funding body for the Australian screen production industry. It supports the development, production, promotion and distribution of Australian narrative and documentary screen content. Includes industry news; information about festivals and upcoming productions; a searchable database of Australian film and television titles.
Luxonline A website dedicated to British video and film art. The site contains an archive of works by film and video artists, including synopses, artist biographies, stills and streamed clips where available together with a section on the history of British film and video art, a glossary of terms, links to relevant web resources and reading material, and step-by-step guides on the techniques and processes in film and video art production.
Anatomy of a Scene - The New York Times
Weekly videos in which directors comment on the craft of movie-making.
Jazz on the Screen: A Jazz and Blues Filmography by David Meeker Based at the Library of Congress, this searchable filmography documents the work of @1,000 major jazz and blues figures in 25,000+ cinema, television and video productions.
Nielsen Media
Most of the content is accessed via fee-based subscriptions, but there is some free content, mainly in the form of news items.
Library of Congress - Digital Collections
Rich collection of primary materials. Access online collections: view maps & photographs; read letters, diaries & newspapers; hear personal accounts of events; listen to sound recordings & watch historic films.

English Corpora (Movies & TV)

From English-Corpora.org (Brigham Young University), the TV Corpus and The Movie Corpus together contain over 525 million words of data, and are a vital resource for looking at informal language. All of the 75,000 TV episodes, and 25,000+ movies, are tied in to their IMDB entry. Both Corpora allow you to look at variation over time (1950s-1970s to 1990s-2010s) and variation between dialects (e.g. American and British English).

The Movie Corpus
Contains 200 million words of data in more than 25,000 movies from the 1930s to the current time. All of the 25,000+ movies are tied in to their IMDB entry,.
The TV Corpus
Contains 325 million words of data in 75,000 TV episodes from the 1950s to the current time. All of the 75,000 episodes are tied in to their IMDB entry.
Corpus of American Soap Operas
Contains 100 million words of data from 22,000 transcripts from American soap operas from the early 2000s.

History

Silent Era Excellent resource for information on worldwide cinema during the silent era.
American Silent Feature Film Database (Library of Congress). The database represents the first comprehensive survey of the survival of American silent feature films. It contains information on the nearly 11,000 U.S. feature films released between 1912-1929, and holdings information about 3,300 of those titles for which elements are known to exist.
Women Film Pioneers Project Hosted by Columbia University Libraries, this is a dynamic collaborative digital resource that showcases the women who worked behind the scenes in the silent film industry as directors, producers, editors, and more. Features career profiles on each pioneer, longer overview essays on national cinemas and occupations, still and moving images, and archival and bibliographic resource materials.
Golden Age of Radio in the US
An online exhibition presented by the Digital Public Library of America (DPLA).
Screenonline (BFI)
British Film Institute. Excellent resource for history of British film and television.
British Pathé
Highlights from British Pathé and the Reuters historical collection of British newsreels covering the twentieth century.
Media History Digital Library Digital archive of documents in the public domain about the history of film, television, and radio. Features extensive runs of several important trade papers and fan magazines(1911-1963). Organized into various Collections gateways (e.g., Hollywood Studio System, Early Cinema, Global).
Lantern Open Access collection of digitized books and magazines from the histories of film, broadcasting, and recorded sound.
AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials

Data (Box Office, Viewing Ratings, & Statistics)

Box Office Mojo
The Numbers: Box Office Data,...
"where data and the movie business meet"
TV By the Numbers
TV Series Finale
This site includes: tv news, cancelled tv show lists, tv show status pages, tv show ratings, network ratings.
The Futon Critic - The Web's Best Television Resource
Screen Daily
International film news, reviews, UK and international box office, festivals, awards, and features.
Worldwide Boxoffice
Historical listings from 1900 to the present.
Eurostat - Culture
Culture statistics for the EU collected from different Eurostat data collections.
Cinema Statistics - UNESCO UNESCO Institute for Statistics provides access to reports on emerging markets, linguistic diversity, and other topics.
Media Salles Founded in 1991, MEDIA Salles is an initative of the EU MEDIA Programme with the support of the Italian Government. The Association concern is the promotion of European films through information and training, and provides statistics on trends in cinema-going for all European countries and the leading world markets.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
This resource contains research reports for U.S. industries, specialized (small or new) U.S. industries, and global industries. It also includes shorter reports on consumer behavior, demographics, and economic indicators, as well as an archive of previous U.S. industry reports dating back to 1999. NOTE: for data, look for the records designated as an "US iExpert Report."

Film Ratings (U.S. & U.K.)

MPAA.org
The Motion Picture Association of America
FilmRatings.com
The Classification and Ratings Administration (CARA)
BBFC
British Board of Film Classification