Find Journal Articles - HCOL 3000: Thesis Proposal Seminar - Schnell (Fall 2023) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

Before You Search

When searching for articles using article databases, the full-text article may not be attached to the citation. If not, look for this icon next to the article citation to see if the library owns it and, if so, access it:

See "Find it at UVM" for more details...

When you retrieve articles, you will get the article's citation. This is the information you need to know to find and cite the article. Below is an example of a citation:

Use a trunction or wildcard symbol at the end of a word or root word to retrieve variant word endings, including plurals.
It makes a search more efficient by decreasing the number of searches while retrieving more results. Most databases use * as the truncation symbol.
Examples: feminis* retrieves: feminism, feminist, feminists
environment* retrieves: environment, environmental, environmentalist, etc.
muslim* retrieves muslim, muslims

Interlibrary Loan

If the library doesn't own a book or article that you need, you may request it from another library via Interlibrary Loan. This service is free for UVM students, faculty, and staff. An article is delivered electronically and usually arrives within a few days. Book requests are generally filled within a week.

If you are making a request for the first time, you will need to register for the service before making a request.
Find more details and a link to the request forms. There is also a link ("ILL/DD" green button) on the Library homepage.

Links from the Libraries websites (databases, journal articles, electronic resources) are automatically proxied for off campus use and you do not need to do anything else. If you haven’t already authenticated, attempting to access a library resource will generate a UVM log-in screen for you to enter your NetID and password.

Good Places to Start Your Research (Multidisciplinary)

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text.
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
This resource gives researchers full-text access to alternative, independent, and grassroots-supported newspapers, journals, and magazines, including Burlington's Seven Days. These publications cover local, national, and international news and issues with a critical view that contrasts with coverage in corporate-owned media.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This resource gives you access to a unique collection of primarily ethnic newspapers, magazines and journals published in the United States and beyond. Represented ethnic groups include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Multi-Ethnic; and Native People.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, technical reports, patents and many other document types. Google Scholar's coverage is extremely broad and sometimes more up-to-date than other databases - but its non-selective coverage may include lower-quality publications.

This link to Google Scholar will enable UVM affiliates to easily link through to materials to which we have access.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary database provides access to a variety of resources including scholarly journals, international newspapers, business information and dissertations.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the scholarly literature across disciplines, and includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and more. It includes a cited reference search feature that enables users to trace the impact of individual scholars' work, analyzes search results by discipline, and creates citation reports of a set of search results.

For additional multidisciplinary article databases see the list on this page.

Electronic Journal Collections (Multidisciplinary)

Most electronic journals (e-journals) are the online versions of well-established periodicals in print. They offer the full-text of feature articles, reviews, and creative writing. Coverage date varies by publication Here is a selected list of searchable e-journal collections.

To learn why and how to find subject-specific article databases on the library website, click Find Appropriate Article Databases.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable multidisciplinary database of the full content of archival issues of scholarly journals. Issues published within the last 3-5 years are generally not covered. It also provides citations to books and pamphlets provided by JSTOR in digital format.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable multidisciplinary full-text database of scholarly journals primarily in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It also provides citations to books provided by Project Muse in digital format.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
This resource covers journal literature and e-books from Elsevier in the sciences, social sciences, health sciences, and humanities.
NOTE: In December 2020, UVM Libraries cancelled this subscription. Materials that we purchased through 2020 and selected open access materials can still be accessed through this database. Many additional items can be identified through this tool and, if unavailable via ScienceDirect, can be obtained for UVM affiliates at no charge through our Interlibrary Loan Service (ILL) by clicking on the "Find it at UVM" links within ScienceDirect.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
This resource is a collection of peer-reviewed, scholarly journals covering a broad range of academic disciplines. Some e-book titles are available as well, which can be recommended for purchase.

CATQuest (Discovery Tool)

Click the image to access CATQuest Advanced Search.

The large search box on the library homepage provides access to our "discovery tool"; it is a Google-like academic search engine designed to retrieve lots of content in our library and beyond (books, articles, videos, etc.). Search the Library Catalog (a different search interface from the Classic Library Catalog ) and lots -but not all- of the content in databases subscribed to by the library. It isn’t meant to replace individual database searching, but provides an opportunity to discover the results of searches in many databases and the library catalog in a single search. Sign in (upper-right of screen) to access the most content available. Note: Using a computer off-campus? Connect to the UVM network via ezproxy or VPN client (recommended) before searching CATQuest.