Books Beyond UVM - HCOL 3000: Thesis Proposal Seminar - Schnell (Fall 2023) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

Books Beyond Howe Library

Enrich your research by searching for books beyond the UVM Libraries. For books not owned by the UVM Libraries, you may borrow books from other libraries by using the Interlibrary Loan service.

Hathi Trust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to millions of digitized titles that are in the public domain. Use it to locate historic or primary source materials from around the world. Use is open to everyone but UVM affiliates can log in to download texts for offline use.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable database of library collections across the United States, Canada and many other countries. Well over a billion records describe books, multimedia, serials, maps, and other information resources. Materials identified through WorldCat can be ordered through UVM's Interlibrary Loan Service.

In addition to the databases above, consider:
Book Reviews: Article databases frequently index book reviews. If you find a review (or citation for a review) for a book that looks useful or interesting, check the library catalog to see if the library owns it.
Bibliographies: Scholarly journal articles, scholarly encyclopedia essays, and academic-oriented books will provide bibliographies or lists for further reading. If you find a book that looks useful or interesting, check the library catalog to see if the library owns it. These are indeed the "low hanging fruit" during the research process!

Theses & Dissertations

While working on a thesis, reviewing theses/dissertations written by others in your research area is useful for two important reasons: methodology and the bibliography. Below are two databases for finding citations to theses/dissertations:

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
This resource is a database of international scholarly research as presented in theses and dissertations from institutions of higher education.
WorldCat This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable database of library collections across the United States, Canada and many other countries. Well over a billion records describe books, multimedia, serials, maps, and other information resources. Materials identified through WorldCat can be ordered through UVM's Interlibrary Loan Service.

The library does not regularly collect dissertations from other institutions. Request the item/s through Interlibrary Loan.

UVM

Use the library catalog to find print and electronic UVM dissertations and theses.

Current dissertations and theses from UVM graduate programs are submitted electronically and are available in UVM ScholarWorks, UVM's Institutional Repository.

Honors College theses from 2014-present may also be found in ScholarWorks HCOL Senior Thesis Collection

Note: Since electronic submission is not required, not all HCOL theses have been submitted to ScholarWorks.