Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Shelburne Pond, the H. Laurence Achilles Natural Area

Resources about the H. Laurence Achilles Natural Area at Shelburne Pond.

Ecology

The H. Laurence Achilles Natural Area encompasses over 1,300 acres of freshwater wetlands and forested uplands, and both old and current farm fields. The area has been the subject of numerous ecological studies at the University of Vermont, many of which are listed below.

Terrestrial/Wetland

Blake, Sidney F. Six weeks' botanizing in Vermont, notes on the plants of Burlington region. Rhodora 15 (1913): 153-168. Online access available to UVM affiliates and walk-ins.

Chaplin, Brian M. Natural Community Mapping and Landscape Assessment at the Shelburne Pond Natural Area, Shelburne, Vermont. Senior Thesis. University of Vermont, Burlington, Vermont, 2002. 
Stored in the Library Research Annex; contact uvmsc@uvm.edu for access

Bly, Kristy L.S. A Comparison of Bog Lepidoptera with Special Reference to Shelburne Pond Bog. In fulfillment of Special Projects Course PSS 197. Department of Plant and Soil Science, University of Vermont, Burlington, Vermont, 1994.
Available in the Natural Areas office in Bittersweet House, 153 S. Prospect St.

Cook, Rachel L. The Development of an Interpretive Brochure for the Upland Trail at the H. Lawrence Achilles Natural Area at Shelburne Pond. Senior. Thesis. University of Vermont, Burlington, Vermont, 2003.
Stored in the Library Research Annex; contact uvmsc@uvm.edu for access

Flora and fauna identified in the Shelburne Pond Natural Area between January and April 2013.

Howland, William. Multispectral Aerial Photography for Wetland Vegetation Mapping.  Photogrammetric Engineering and Remote Sensing 46 (1980): 87-99.
Vegetation around Shelburne Pond was mapped using small scale aerial photographs.

Lief, Janice.  Guide to the Common Marsh and Bog Plants of Shelburne Pond.
Call number: Special Collections QK190 .L53 1978 

Lurie, Lisa M. The Effect of Beaver on the Wetland Hydrology of Shelburne Pond, Shelbure, Vermont.
Project report for a course titled: Ecology and Geology of the Lake Champlain Basin. University of Vermont, Burlington, Vermont, 1998.
Available in the Natural Areas office in Bittersweet House, 153 S. Prospect St.

Michalski, Meredith. Leather Leaf and its Effects on pH and Conductivity in Shelburne Pond, Shelburne, Vermont. Project report for a course titled: Ecology and Geology of the Lake Champlain Basin. University of Vermont, Burlington, Vermont, 1998.
Available in the Natural Areas office in Bittersweet House, 153 S. Prospect St.

Natural Communities of Shelburne Pond.
Created by students at the University of Vermont in NR 378, Spring 2013.

Osheyack, G. D. and Ian Worley. Primary Production at a Complex Peatland in Northern Vermont.  In the Proceedings of the 1981 International Peat Symposium, 385-417.
Call number: Howe Library TN837 .I64 1981 

Terrey, Karen A. Winter Sign Interpretation of Mammals at a Shelburne Pond Wetland. Senior Honors Project. University of Vermont Environmental Program, 1988.
Available in the Natural Areas office in Bittersweet House, 153 S. Prospect St.

Terrey, Karen A. Winter Sign Interpretation of Mammals at a Shelburne Pond Wetland. 1988.
Available in the Natural Areas office in Bittersweet House, 153 S. Prospect St.

Worley, Ian and Mark Rooks. Effects of a Large Storm on the Southeast Wetland of Shelburne Pond, Vermont.  University of Vermont Botany Department and Agricultural Experiment Station, Burlington, Vermont, 1978.
Available in the Natural Areas office in Bittersweet House, 153 S. Prospect St.

Worley, Ian A., W. Mark Rooks, Gayle Ragan. Phytosociological Characteristics of a Bog-Carr-Lagg-Upland Wetland Transition Zone at Shelburne Pond, VT. Journal of the Vermont Agricultural Experiment Station.
Available in the Natural Areas office in Bittersweet House, 153 S. Prospect St.

Robert Wyatt and Ireneusz J. Odrzykoski. 1998. On the Origins of the Allopolyploid Moss Plagiomniumcuspidatum. The Bryologist 101 (1998): 263-271. Online access available to UVM affiliates and walk-ins.

Aquatic

Borre, Mary Alisa. Internal Sources of Phosphorus in Shelburne Pond, Vermont. Honors Thesis, University of Vermont Geology Department, 1986.

DeYoe, Hudson Robert. Seasonal Succession of the Algae in Shelburne Pond, Vermont. Masters Thesis, University of Vermont, 1981.
Call number: W15 O D532h  Request from LRA Archives

DeYoe, H R. Spring Observations of the Algae in Shelburne Pond, VT. In Proceedings of the Seventh (1980) Annual Lake Champlain Basin Environmental Conference, 187-195.
Call number: Special Collections HC107.N7 L34

Ferber, Lisa. Nitrogen Dynamics of Blue-green Algal Blooms in a Eutrophic Vermont Lake. Masters Thesis, University of Vermont, 2001.
Call number: W15 O F373L Request from LRA Archives

Ferber, L.R., Levine, S.N., Lini, A., Livingston, G.P. Do Cyanobacteria Dominate in Eutrophic Lakes Because They Fix Atmospheric Nitrogen?  Freshwater Biology 49 (2004): 690-708.
Online access available to UVM affiliates and walk-ins.

Hanson, Thor, M. Keener, A. Salzberg, D. Samtom. Shelburne Pond Assessment: Watershed Analysis, Ecological Summary and Recommendations for Management. University of Vermont Natural Areas, 1998.
Available in the Natural Areas office in Bittersweet House, 153 S. Prospect St.

Heindel, Craig D. Estimating Recharge to Bedrock Groundwater in a Small Watershed in the Lake Champlain Drainage Basin,1980.

Lini, Andrea; Ostrofsky, Milton; Dahlen, Daun; Levine, Suzanne; Kamman, Neil. Paleolimnology of Hypereutrophic Shelburne Pond, Vermont. 43rd Annual Meeting of the Northeastern Section of Geological Society of America. (March 27, 2008).
Request through Interlibrary Loan

Morse, J. W., & Flanders, P. H. Primary Productivity Study of Three Vermont Lakes: Lake Iroquois, Shelburne Pond, Lake Memphremagog. State of Vermont, Water Supply and Pollution Control Division, 1971.
Call number: TD224.V5 W37 no. 2 Special Collections

Mowery, Michelle L. The H. Lawrence Achilles Natural Area: A Paddling Guide to Shelburne Pond. Senior Thesis. University of Vermont, Burlington, Vermont, 2004.
Stored in the Library Research Annex; contact uvmsc@uvm.edu for access

Schuyler, Sonja A. Summer Community Metabolism in Shelburne Pond. M.S. Thesis. University of Vermont, Burlington, Vermont, 1972.
Call number: W15 O Sch89s Request from LRA Archives

Theriot, E. and Stoermer, E. F. Principal Component Analysis of Variation in Stephanodiscusrotula and S. niagarae (Bacillariophyceae). Systematic Botany 9 (1984): 53-59.
Online access available to UVM affiliates and walk-ins.

Conservation

Beaman, T T. Agricultural Runoff in Selected Vermont Watersheds: Introduction and Inventory. Proceedings of the Seventh (1980) Annual Lake Champlain Basin Environmental Conference, 337-338. 
Call number: Special Collections HC107 .N7 L34 

Droege, Missy F., Fullerton M. G., Larson, M.E., LaMotte, K., Peleszak, C.M., Renaud, J.M. Master Stewardship Plan for the H. Laurence Achilles Natural Area (Shelburne Pond), Town of Shelburne, Chittenden County, Vermont, 1982.
Available in the Natural Areas office in Bittersweet House, 153 S. Prospect St.

Hart, Sarah. Shelburne Pond: A Site Conservation Plan.
University of Vermont Environmental Program, Burlington, Vermont, 2000. 
Available in the Natural Areas office in Bittersweet House, 153 S. Prospect St.

Marrs, Brandon M. An Ecological Restoration Proposal for a Former Cattle Farm Located on the Northern Shore of Shelburne Pond in Shelburne, Vermont. Senior thesis, University of Vermont, Burlington, Vermont, 2005.
Stored in the Library Research Annex; contact uvmsc@uvm.edu for access

Winooski River Basin Water Quality Management Plan. Vermont Agency of Natural Resources, Department of Environmental Conservation, Watershed Management Division, Waterbury, VT, 2012.

Worley, Ian. Evaluation of Shelburne Pond and Wetlands, Shelburne, Chittenden County, Vermont for Designation as a Natural Landmark. University of Vermont Botany Department, Burlington, Vermont, 1981.
Available in the Natural Areas office in Bittersweet House, 153 S. Prospect St.

Other

Carr, Patrick G., Worley, Ian A., Davis, Michael, W. 1977. Post-Lake Vermont History of a Pond and Wetland in the Champlain Basin. 
In Proceedings of the Fourth (1977) Annual Lake Champlain Basin Environmental Conference, 71-111. 
Call number: Special Collections HC107 .N7 L34 

Hart, Sarah. Environmental Practicum: The Shelburne Pond Experience. 
In partial fulfillment of the requirements for ENVS 191, Environmental Practicum, 2001.
Available at the Environmental Program, Bittersweet House, 153 S. Prospect St.

Heindel, C. Glacial Geology, Hydrogeology, and Road Salt Effects on Groundwater in the Williston Area, Vermont. Master’s Thesis, Geology Department, University of Vermont, Burlington, VT, 1980.
Call number: Special Collections W15 O H364c