Find Books and Articles - NFS 53: Basic Concepts of Food - Trubek (Spring 2020) - UVM Libraries Research Guides at UVM Libraries

Getting Started

CATQuest is our library's discovery tool, which searches both our library catalog (books, journals by title, DVDs) and also a large selection of our databases (scholarly articles across multiple disciplines).

NOTE: CATQuest can be a great place to get started. That said, once you get further into your project you will want to use the more targeted, subject-specific databases listed below under "Articles and Journals".

Articles and Journals

Databases (Collections of Journals and Other Scholarly Resources):

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
This resource provides comprehensive indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in all the sub-disciplines of anthropology, including cultural, social, physical, biological, linguistics, archaeology, folklore, and interdisciplinary studies. It provides complete citations with descriptors and geographic information.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
This resource is a full-text, searchable database of publications from the American Anthropological Association (AAA). It contains the full-text of articles from AAA journals, newsletters, bulletins, and monographs.
HAPI: the Database of Latin American Journal Articles This link opens in a new window
This resource provides citations to the social sciences and humanities literature that focuses on Latin America, including: Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean Basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the U.S. It includes citations to articles, book reviews, documents, and original literary works. Some citations have links to full-text articles.
Health and Wellness This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to health and health-related information from journal articles, magazine articles, reference resources, book chapters, newsletters, pamphlets, drug and herbal remedy information, and multimedia sources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable multidisciplinary database of the full content of archival issues of scholarly journals. Issues published within the last 3-5 years are generally not covered. It also provides citations to books and pamphlets provided by JSTOR in digital format.
Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new window
This resource is a portal to full-text sources (biographies, encyclopedias, companions, primary sources, images and maps) about African Americans, African American life and culture, and Africa and the diaspora.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
This free resource comprises citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. This resource is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly and professional literature in a wide range of social science areas, including anthropology, economics, public administration, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology. Includes the journal Food, Culture & Society.
World Scholar, Latin America & the Caribbean This link opens in a new window
This resource includes access to primary historical materials relating to Latin America and the Caribbean. Dates of coverage are 1492 to the 1980s and types of materials include digitized manuscripts, historical newspapers, and government documents. English and Spanish languages.

Select Journals by Title:

Newspapers

Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
This resource gives researchers full-text access to alternative, independent, and grassroots-supported newspapers, journals, and magazines, including Burlington's Seven Days. These publications cover local, national, and international news and issues with a critical view that contrasts with coverage in corporate-owned media.
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
This resource provides citations for articles from international alternative and small-press journals, newspapers and magazines, sometimes with links to full text. Articles include news reports, biographical profiles and arts reviews and cover cultural, economic, political and social change over the last 25 years.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
This resource gives you access to a unique collection of primarily ethnic newspapers, magazines and journals published in the United States and beyond. Represented ethnic groups include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Multi-Ethnic; and Native People.

United Tastes (New York Times)
Articles in the United Tastes series explore American cuisine and its ongoing evolution.

Primary Sources

Digital Collections (Library of Congress)
Provides access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. Collections may be browsed by topic or format, or may be searched by keyword.
Feeding America: The Historic American Cookbook Project (Michigan State University)
The Feeding America project has created an online collection of some of the most important and influential American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century.
Vermont Foodways Digital Initiative
The Vermont Foodways Digital Initiative explores the culture and tradition of food in Vermont - from farm to fork - through multimedia. Migration, Past and Present looks at the food traditions, customs and stories, not only of the earliest settlers in Vermont, but also of more recent refugees and transplants.
What's On the Menu? (New York Public Library)
With approximately 45,000 menus dating from the 1840s to the present, The New York Public Library’s restaurant menu collection is one of the largest in the world, used by historians, chefs, novelists and everyday food enthusiasts.

Learn More

The below tutorials have been created to teach you about using and navigating library resources:

Finding Articles
This guide will help you choose the right tool for your research, according to the material you need and where you are in the research process. You will also learn simple and advanced techniques for using these tools effectively.
Reading and Working with Citations
Find out how to interpret the bibliographies attached to materials you you've already found and use them to find more information.
Searching the Libraries' Collections with CATQuest
Get to know CATQuest, a powerful discovery tool that searches nearly everything in UVM Libraries' physical and digital collections.

Working from off-campus?

Log on to EZproxy with your UVM NetID and password to access UVM Libraries' electronic resources, including databases, full-text journal articles, e-books, and more.

Find It@UVM

Some databases have the full text of an article; otherwise, look for the Find it@UVM button.

Use this button to:

1) Search the Libraries' collections for the full-text version of an article, online or in print.
2) Submit an interlibrary loan request when we do not have the full-text version.