This resource provides images of artworks and cultural artifacts of a wide variety of types, including paintings, sculpture, photographs, prints, furniture, textiles, ceramics, and more from around the world. The collection can be searched by creator, time period, type of work or by region of origin.
This resource provides access to the complete Encyclopædia Britannica. After entering the database, click "Media Browse" to search across millions of images and videos from the encyclopedia, including the "Arts and Literature -> Literature" and "History->Modern World" collections.
Image Search Engines - Freely Available on the Internet
An online platform through which the public can access high-resolution images of artworks housed in the initiative’s partner museums worldwide.
Search by keyword, artist, medium, country/place, art movements, historical events, historical figures.
An all-digital library that aggregates information and thumbnails for millions of photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, and more from libraries, archives, and museums in the United States.
Search for images and other Internet content from other established web sites (such as Google Images or YouTube) that the content producers stated could be used commercially and/or with modification. For example, when you use Creative Commons to search Google Images, it will return only those images that are labeled for commercial reuse with modification. (read more about Creative Commons).
Digital Image Collections - Freely Available on the Internet
NOTE: Many of the websites on the Websites page in this guide include extensive collections of images.
This museum is on the campus of Ferris State University and-according to the website-houses the nation's largest collection of artifacts documenting Jim Crow and racist caricatures of African Americans, from its origins to the present day. The online exhibits (linked under "Museum" in the top menu bar) embed images, artifacts, videos, and documents from the collection.
This growing collection of 1200+ images (portraits, maps, illustrations, etc.) have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This project is a collaboration of universities and corporations.
Provides free access to 900,000+ images (some in public domain) digitized from the The NYPL's collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs, streaming video, and more. Search by keyword or Browse Collections. Encompasses the Berg Collection of English and American Literature, including: printed volumes; pamphlets; broadsides; literary archives and manuscripts, representing the work of 400+ authors. Printed books in English date from William Caxton to the present day.
An educational resource designed for teachers and students featuring primary sources from the Newberry Library's (Chicago) holdings, contextual essays, and discussion questions. See also Digital Newberry.