UVM Libraries Research Guides: English & American Literature : African American Literature: E-Texts (licensed databases)

E-Books & E-Texts : Licensed Databases

Columbia Granger's World of Poetry This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable database of full-text poems and citations to poems in anthologies by major poets worldwide from all eras. It also contains biographical profiles of poets, poem commentaries, a glossary of poetry terms, and spoken word audio recordings of poems.

American historical periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society
This collection of magazines provides a history of the American people from the colonial period (late 1600s) through to the early twentieth century (1922). The periodicals focused on American concerns and were predominantly, though not exclusively, published in the U.S. or Canada.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
This resource includes 370,205 full-text publications designated by the U.S. Congress for printing from 1817 - 1994, scanned from original print volumes of the Serial Set. Includes citation records for the Serial Set's 74,495 maps.
American State Papers, 1789-1838 This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to primary source materials related to the Early Republic of the United States. It contains searchable full-page images of documents, reports, maps, and statistics from the U.S. Congress and other federal government agencies.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
This resource provides primary and secondary resources related to the history of women in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000.

Oxford Handbooks Online
The titles in this multidisciplinary series offer authoritative surveys of original research in a particular subject area. Specially commissioned essays from recognized scholars in the discipline give critical examinations of the progress and direction of debates, as well as a foundation for future research.

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
This resource is a collection of titles that provide in-depth, scholarly histories on a wide variety of topics in U.S. and world history, and the history of specific disciplines. Full-text content is available for each title; many comprise multiple volumes. Note: Use this resource to search the entire collection of Cambridge History... titles including the three titles listed above.