This resource provides access to newspapers by and/or for African Americans. Significant titles include: Freedom's Journal, the first African American newspaper published in the US; Frederick Douglass' Paper; and the Washington Bee. Explore historical events related to the anti-slavery movement, the great migration, the modern civil rights movement, and more. Search or browse the collection to find news articles, letters to the editor, advertisements, images, and editorials.
This resource includes a variety of primary source materials (e.g., newspapers, magazines, county histories and more) relating to U.S. history from the 18th through the early 20th centuries, including several African American newspapers, two anti-slavery newspapers, and the full-text of Twelve Years a Slave. Note: most materials in this collection are text (not image-based) versions of the originals.
This subset of newspapers from Accessible Archives provides access to seven African-American newspapers that collectively cover the years 1827-1902. Select "African-American Newspapers" from the Source list to search this collection.
This resource provides access to Harper's Weekly (1857-1912), America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper, well-known for its political and editorial cartoons. Materials can be located by browsing dates, searching for keywords, or using Finding Aids to explore predefined topics.
This full-text collection includes hundreds of American newspapers from all 50 states published between 1690 and 1999 (most coverage is for dates prior to 1924). Papers are presented as full-image PDFs and include news, editorials, advertisements, and more.
This database provides access to the Washington Post (1877-2006), a leading source for news on foreign events and policy. The paper is in PDF format and includes accompanying illustrations, advertisements, and photographs.
This resource provides access to full-text articles published in the Chicago Tribune (1849-1998). The paper is in PDF format and includes news reports, editorials and editorial cartoons, advertisements, reviews, obituaries, and illustrations and photographs.
This full-text resource contains articles from national/regional/international newspapers, magazines, journals, law reviews, and wire services; broadcast transcripts; U.S. federal and state case law, codes, and regulations; company financial reports; patents; and SEC filings.
This link provides access to UVM's institutional subscription to the New York Times website (excluding premium content such as the crossword and NYTimes Cooking). After accessing via a UVM Libraries link, UVM affiliates may create an individual account and login. (This account will need to be reactivated via a library link periodically.) Anonymized access is available at the Howe Library; contact the Reference Desk for more information.
This resource gives you access to a unique collection of primarily ethnic newspapers, magazines and journals published in the United States and beyond. Represented ethnic groups include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Multi-Ethnic; and Native People.