UVM Libraries Research Guides: Students Studying Abroad: A Library Guide: Need articles?

Locating articles by topic

When researching a topic, a recommended way to start is by using a broad, interdisciplinary database to locate journal articles. Academic Search Premier is a great database to start with.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the scholarly literature across disciplines, and includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and more. It includes a cited reference search feature that enables users to trace the impact of individual scholars' work, analyzes search results by discipline, and creates citation reports of a set of search results.

The UVM Libraries subscribes to hundreds of databases to help you locate scholarly journal articles. Choose a general, multi-subject resource to start, and then use a subject-specific database to get a greater depth of access to the subject literature.

From the main Research Databases page, use the pull-down meu labeled "All Subjects" to access lists of databases by subject. Blue flags next to databases connote recommended resources and starting points.

Accessing articles of interest in databases

Follow links to the full-text article, if available.
Click on the button to see if we subscribe electronically to the journal. If so, you can access the article.
If not, use Interlibrary Loan to request a PDF of the article.