Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedias & Other Reference Sources
Atlas of North American English by
Call Number: FOLIO PE 2808 .L26 2006 (Reference Atlas Stand)
Publication Date: 2005-12-08
The Atlas of North American English provides the first overall view of the pronunciation and vowel systems of the dialects of the U.S. and Canada. The Atlas re-defines the regional dialects of American English on the basis of sound changes active in the 1990s and draws new boundaries reflecting those changes. It is based on a telephone survey of 762 local speakers, representing all the urbanized areas of North America. The online version includes audio files.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Language by
Call Number: P 29 .C64 2010 (Reference)
Publication Date: 2010-06-03
This single-volume encyclopedia includes numerous entries grouped into # major categories : popular Ideas about language; the mediums of language; structure of language; language acquisition; neurological basis of language; and languages of the world. The volume also includes a glossary, suggestions for further reading, references, and is heavily illustrated.
Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics by
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2007-10-15
3,150 entries are included in this work that spans grammar, phonetics, semantics, languages (spoken and written), dialects, and sociolinguistics.
Dictionary of American Regional English by
Call Number: ONLINE & PE 2843 .D52 1985-2012 (Reference)
Publication Date: 2013-
DARE does not include words that are commonly used throughout the United States, but rather focuses on the regional aspects of our language, documenting words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another. It includes audio clips and quotations from the DARE Survey conducted 1965-1970, and an interactive map in addition to the maps that were included in the previous print version.
Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics by
Call Number: ONLINE
Publication Date: 2006-04-27
This work deals comprehensively with the current research in formal linguistics, psycholinguistics, sociolinguistics, and language studies and takes into account diverse views and perspectives encountered in research and thinking in the field. Places an emphasis on the multidisciplinary nature of the language study. Includes audio files.
International Encyclopedia of Linguistics by
Call Number: P 29 .I58 1992 v.1-4 (Reference)
Publication Date: 1992-01-09
A four-volume reference comprising approximately seven hundred alphabetically ordered entries on all aspects of the field including historical, comparative, formal, mathematical, functional, and philosophical linguistics.
Language and Communication by
Call Number: P 29 .F47 1998 (Reference)
Publication Date: 1998-05-01
In this illustrated, A-to-Z volume, readers will discover the sociocultural rules governing the use of language in a cross-cultural context. Complete with cross-references and bibliographic citations, the entries in this volume examine how people from different cultural backgrounds rely on traditional and emerging cultural rules for social interaction and give readers insight and sensitivity to many of the communication barriers that exist in the modern world.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Linguistics by
Call Number: P 29 .R67 2010 (Reference)
Publication Date: 2010-01-20
A single-volume encyclopedia covering all major and subsidiary areas of linguistics and applied linguistics.