UVM Libraries Research Guides: Historical Newspapers: Asian & Australian Newspapers Online

South Asian Historical Newspapers Online

Times of India (ProQuest Historical Newspapers, 1838-rolling end date) This link opens in a new window
Full digitized version of the newspaper. Dates of coverage 1838 - 2003.
Language: English

South Asian Newspapers (Global Press Archive)
The collection covers several countries, including Afghanistan, Bangladesh (formerly East Pakistan), India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lankai. With reportage dating as far back as the 1850s, the South Asian Newspapers collection provides coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the 19th and 20th centuries. Dates of coverage vary by title. View list of titles and dates.
Languages: English, Bengali, Dari, Nepali, & more
Southeast Asian Newspapers (Global Press Archive)
This collection chronicles the the history of several countries from the region, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam from the mid19th through the mid 20th century.
View list of titles and dates of coverage.
Languages: English, Indonesian, French, Javanese, Spanish, Vietnamese, and more.
Indian Express
English language newspaper from India. Google has made archival issues back to the 1930s available online.

Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953) This link opens in a new window
Collection of 12 English language newspapers from China that provide first-hand accounts of all aspects of Chinese cultural and political life for the period that includes the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars, the Boxer Rebellion, and the First and Second Sino-Japanese Wars.
Language: English

Trove
Collection of digitized Australian newspapers from the National Library of Australia.