Resources to help you locate historical newspapers from the 17th through the 21st century online and in other formats. Includes newspapers from The United States, Britain, India, Mexico, Latin America, and more.
Highlights of the collection include access to The Pennsylvania Gazette, Frank Leslie's Weekly, Godey's Ladies' Book, a collection of African-American Newspapers, Civil War materials, and more. Dates of coverage varies.
This resource provides access to newspapers by and/or for African Americans. Significant titles include: Freedom's Journal, the first African American newspaper published in the US; Frederick Douglass' Paper; and the Washington Bee. Explore historical events related to the anti-slavery movement, the great migration, the modern civil rights movement, and more. Search or browse the collection to find news articles, letters to the editor, advertisements, images, and editorials.
This subset of newspapers from Accessible Archives provides access to seven African-American newspapers that collectively cover the years 1827-1902. Select "African-American Newspapers" from the Source list to search this collection.
This open source collection includes digitized local newspapers from all regions of the U.S. and provides a number of ethnic and foreign language titles. Papers are presented as full image PDFs and include news, editorials, advertisements, and more. Dates of publication range from the late 18th century through 1963.
Huge full-text resource that includes many types of material from new media: newspaper articles, as well as television and radio transcripts from the 1980s through the present. Includes papers from the all over the world in English and numerous other languages. Formerly known as LexisNexis Academic.
The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s. Languages: Spanish and English
This database is a digitized version of the microfilm edition of the Boston Globe (1872-1990). The paper is fully digitized in PDF format and includes news reports, editorials and editorial cartoons, advertisements, reviews, obituaries, and illustrations and photographs.
This resource provides full-page reproductions of one of the most influential African-American newspapers of the 20th century. The paper includes coverage of events and issues such as the Great Migration, the Anti-Lynching Campaign, and the Civil Rights Movement.
This resource provides access to full-text articles published in the Chicago Tribune (1849-1998). The paper is in PDF format and includes news reports, editorials and editorial cartoons, advertisements, reviews, obituaries, and illustrations and photographs.
This resource provides full-page reproductions of one of the nation's leading Black newspapers. The New York Amsterdam News documented the Harlem Renaissance in the 1920s, desegregation of the U.S. military in World War II, and the Civil Rights Movement in the 1960s. It also provides local, national, and international news coverage.
This database provides historical and current access to the New York Times (1851-2016). The paper is fully digitized in PDF format and includes news articles, editorials, cartoons and advertisements, and more.
Dates of coverage are from 1728-1800. To search select "Pennsylvania Gazette" from the sources pull-down. Access to this publication from 1736 to 1775 is available from America's Historical Newspapers (which has a better search function).
"From February 8, 1918, to June 13, 1919, by order of General John J. Pershing, the United States Army published a newspaper for its forces in France, The Stars and Stripes. This online collection, presented by the Serial and Government Publications Division of the Library of Congress, includes the complete seventy-one-week run of the newspaper's World War I edition."
This database provides access to the Wall Street Journal (1889-2010), a leading source of business news. The paper is in PDF format and includes accompanying illustrations, advertisements, and photographs.
This database provides access to the Washington Post (1877-2006), a leading source for news on foreign events and policy. The paper is in PDF format and includes accompanying illustrations, advertisements, and photographs.
Digitized versions of small press newspapers and periodicals from the 1950s to the present. Areas of coverage include GI Press, student activism, LGBT press, African-American and Native American press.
This resource gives researchers full-text access to alternative, independent, and grassroots-supported newspapers, journals, and magazines, including Burlington's Seven Days. These publications cover local, national, and international news and issues with a critical view that contrasts with coverage in corporate-owned media.
This resource provides citations for articles from international alternative and small-press journals, newspapers and magazines, sometimes with links to full text. Articles include news reports, biographical profiles and arts reviews and cover cultural, economic, political and social change over the last 25 years.
This resource gives you access to a unique collection of primarily ethnic newspapers, magazines and journals published in the United States and beyond. Represented ethnic groups include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish; Multi-Ethnic; and Native People.
This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the daily edition of the Burlington Free Press published from 1848-2007. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format. For best search results set parameters to look for search terms "in Anywhere."
The Burlington Free Press, The Rutland Daily Herald, The Brattleboro Reformer, The St. Albans Messanger, and The Barre Daily Times are all included. Dates of coverage vary. Access via the Vermont state government MyVermont Portal. In order you access you will have to create an account in their system.
Making an account:
Go to MyVermont.gov and use the form in the middle of the page to make an account.
Next, look for the "Featured Items" box and the link for "NEWSPAPERS.COM (VERMONT TITLES ONLY)."