Posters and Poster Presentations

There are several different sources of UVM graphics, including logos, available on the university's website. Here are some commonly used ones:

• UVM Logos - Includes logos for each college; refer to the guidelines for questions about usage
• Larner College of Medicine-Office of Medical Communications Graphic Toolbox - Includes logos for LCOM and the University of Vermont Medical Center
• Creative Style Guide - Includes UVM-related graphics such as the university seal, academic icons, and social media badges
• UVM Photography Archive - Use search function to locate specific photos

Images and graphics are an important part of any poster. First, they break up text, which makes the poster easier to read. Second, they can convey complex information much more effectively than just text. When using images and graphics, be sure to keep the following in mind:

• Check to make sure that all photos have proper exposure (the photo isn't too bright or too dark) and are in focus
• Make sure images and graphics are not pixelated, especially if you downloaded it from the web or resized it
• Only include images or graphics that are related to the poster content
• Aim for a 60%-40% ratio of text to images/graphics
• Check to make sure that images/graphics are properly labelled when appropriate (e.g. charts, diagrams, etc.)
• Avoid overly complicated graphics, like 3-D charts, that are difficult to read
• Do not use an image as a background
• Stick with JPEG (especially for natural scenes in photos) or PNG (especially for logos)
• Make sure that the image's resolution is 300 dpi or higher to ensure the image is clear when printed

The following websites are good places to search for images and graphics. Be sure to follow any requirements for using images and graphics. Many sites, for example, require that you credit the artist when using their work.

• Pixabay - Includes images, icons, and illustrations; attribution not required
• Pexels - Includes images; attribution not required
• Unsplash - Includes images; attribution not required
• The Noun Project - Includes images & black and white icons; attribution required
• Flaticon - Includes icons; attribution required
• Wikimedia Commons - Includes images; some images require attribution - check each image for details

What about searching Google?

Google image search provides tools that allow you to limit your searches to certain parameters, such as color and file type. One of these limits is "Usage Rights" which give you the option to limit results to "Creative Commons Licenses". These images are not necessarily free for you to use however. They frequently still require that you credit the author or follow other restrictions.