This is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The resource includes proposed and enacted legislation, congressional debates and actions, committee reports and a great deal of other information on the activities and members of Congress. Materials are available in full-text and can be retrieved through the use of citations or keyword searches.
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
This resource is the official platform for statistical data and other digital content produced by the United States Census Bureau. Data can be retrieved using simple keywords or other more specific information such as industry codes or specific table numbers. It replaces American FactFinder which sunsets in early 2020.
The Economic Report of the President is an annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors. It overviews the nation's economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
This resource provides titles, subjects, call numbers and other information for U.S. government publications. Many of the documents described can be located in the Government Information collection on the Ground Floor of the Howe Library.
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) has replaced the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) system.
NAICS was developed jointly by the U.S., Canada, and Mexico to provide new comparability in statistics about business activity across North America.
For hundreds of different types of jobs—such as teacher, lawyer, and nurse—the Occupational Outlook Handbook tells you: the training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions.
Government Manual provides comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches. It also includes information on quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, and boards, commissions, and committees.
This database helps locate legal materials, including law review articles, court decisions, statutes, and the American Jurisprudence legal encyclopedia. This resource also includes full-text news and business articles and company information.
This resource provides access to primary materials in American history and a wide variety of other areas. It contains searchable full-page images of documents, reports, maps, and statistics from the U.S. Congress and other federal government agencies.