U.S. Government Resources

This is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information dating back to 1799. The resource includes proposed and enacted legislation, congressional debates and actions, committee reports, and other information on the activities and members of Congress. Materials are available in full text and can be retrieved through the use of citations or keyword searches.

This free website provides a centralized place to access data and digital content from the U.S. Census Bureau, including demographic data on the U.S. population from 2000 to present.

[Remote Access - UVM Affiliate Only]

[Remote Access - UVM Affiliate Only]

This is a comprehensive index to historical publications of the United States federal government on all subjects from January 1895 through June 1976. Many of the documents described can be located in the Government Information collection on the Ground Floor of the Howe Library.

This database helps locate legal materials, including law review articles, court decisions, statutes, and the American Jurisprudence legal encyclopedia. This resource also includes full-text news and business articles and company information.

This resource provides access to primary source materials related to the Early Republic of the United States. It contains searchable full-page images of documents, reports, maps, and statistics from the U.S. Congress and other federal government agencies.

Debates and Proceedings in the U.S. Congress, 1789-1824

Congressional Debates, 1833-1873

Proceedings and Debates of the U.S. Congress, 1873-1997

Congressional Debates, 1824-1837

This resource includes 370,205 full-text publications designated by the U.S. Congress for printing from 1817 - 1994, scanned from original print volumes of the Serial Set. Includes citation records for the Serial Set's 74,495 maps.

This resource includes data on population, health, labor, the environment, energy, business, and more for the United States and individual states dating back to the 1700s.