Skip to Main Content

UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Statistics

A guide to information and research sources for statistics.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Mathematics
An open access resource containing more than 8,000 entries. Supported in part by the European Mathematical Society.
Wolfram MathWorld
A comprehensive online encyclopedia, including bibliographic references. (Formerly known as Eric Weisstein's World of Mathematics.)

Encyclopedia of Statistical Sciences by Samuel I. Kotz; Campbell B. Read (Editor-In-Chief); David L. Banks
Call Number: QA276.14 .E5 (Bailey/Howe 3rd Floor)
A 12-volume encyclopedia with lengthy entries on a comprehensive range of statistics topics.

Dictionaries

Oxford Dictionary of Statistics
An authoritative source of definitions. Published 2014.

The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics by B. S. Everitt
Call Number: REF QA276.14 .E84 2006 (Bailey/Howe 1st Floor)
Authoritative definitions of modern statistical concepts, accompanied by standard formulae and references to further reading.

Concise Oxford dictionary of mathematics
Brief definitions for terms in pure and applied mathematics.

Handbooks and tables

NIST Digital Library of Mathematical Functions (DLMF)
An expanded and updated version of Abramowitz and Stegun's Handbook... (see below)

Handbook of Mathematical Functions with Formulas, Graphs, and Mathematical Tables by Milton Abramowitz and Irene A. Stegun
Call Number: REF QA3 .U5 no. 55 (Bailey/Howe 1st Floor)
An authoritative set of tables produced by the U.S. Bureau of Standards.

The Wolfram Functions Site
A wide-ranging set of formulas and information about mathematical functions.

Last Updated: Sep 1, 2023 11:18 AM
URL: https://researchguides.uvm.edu/statistics
Print Page

Subjects: Mathematics & Statistics

Tags: cems, data, probability, statistics