UVM Libraries Research Guides: Statistics: Dissertations & theses

Dissertations & theses

UVM ScholarWorks: College of Engineering and Mathematical Sciences
ScholarWorks is the Institutional Repository (IR) for research produced at the University of Vermont. It includes all SOE graduate theses and dissertations from 2014 onwards, plus some predating that year.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses This link opens in a new window
This resource is a database of international scholarly research as presented in theses and dissertations from institutions of higher education.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, technical reports, patents and many other document types. Google Scholar's coverage is extremely broad and sometimes more up-to-date than other databases - but its non-selective coverage may include lower-quality publications.

This link to Google Scholar will enable UVM affiliates to easily link through to materials to which we have access.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)
NDLTD provides a search engine for open- and restricted-access online theses and dissertations.
Mathematics Commons
A full-text database of college and university research, including many dissertations and theses.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
An international, open-access database of graduate theses and dissertations.

Find a specific dissertation or thesis

Check online:

If you are looking for a UVM dissertation, search ScholarWorks.

Otherwise, search ProQuest Dissertations & Theses. If that is unsuccessful, try Google Scholar and NDLTD.

Find out if the dissertation was published:

Some dissertations are subsequently published by academic presses. A quick way to find out is by searching WorldCat. Search by author because the title of the published book may be different from the title of the dissertation.

Request an interlibrary loan:

If you are unable to find the dissertation online, request a copy via interlibrary loan.