24 volume collection. Each entry includes an extensive essay, a list of further readings, and when applicable indicates where the papers/ manuscripts of the subject are located.
Howe Library also owns a print edition of this work and it is located at: E 176 .D565 1999 Reference (First Floor)
This volume explores the region's varied terrains and climates and how they have contributed to the emergence of vastly different sartorial styles, from cowboy dress and blue jeans to snowgoggles and carnival costume. The splendid dress cultures and heritages of First Nation Peoples and African Americans are covered in depth, together with their influence on mainstream fashion. Hispanic and Jewish cultural traditions are also fully explored, while "Snapshots" provide briefer overviews of the dress practices of a surprising range of cultural and social groups in the region, from the Amish to drag queens. The importance of the North American fashion industry, both past and present, is highlighted, as are major influences that continue to shape trends worldwide, such as the Hollywood film industry and rock music.
This work explores a wide array of influences from Native, European, African, Asian, and other sources. It begins with a survey of the music of Native Americans and then explores the social, historical, and cultural events of musical life in the period until 1900. Other contributors examine the growth and influence of popular musics, including film and stage music, jazz, rock, and immigrant, folk, and regional musics. The volume also includes chapters on twentieth-century art music, including the experimental, serial, and tonal traditions.
Encyclopedia of American Social History
Call Number: HN 57 .E58 1993 (Reference)
This reference focuses on processes and people - how they chose sites for towns and built their homes, how they led their lives, how they modified and were modified by their physical surroundings. Race, gender, ethnicity, work, culture, technology, education, and family history are included.
Covers topics and persons in major areas of popular culture: film, music, print culture, social life, sports, television and radio, and art and performance (including theater, dance, stand-up comedy, and other live performance).
American Immigrant Culture: Builders of a Nation
Call Number: E 184.A1 A63448 1997 (Reference)
Encyclopaedia of Civil Rights in America by Shelley Fisher Fishkin; Samuel D. Bradley
Call Number: E 185.61 .E544 1998 (Reference)
Publication Date: 1998
"The Encyclopedia of Civil Rights in America" presents students with lucid, enlightening essays on these fundamental documents, court decisions and laws, while examining the aspects of public and private life they serve to protect, and highlighting those individuals who are and have been influential in defining and interpreting civil rights. It is organized in an easy to use A-Z format, from Abolitionists to the contemporary Zoot Suits riots."
The Oxford African American Studies Center provides access to more than 10,000 articles by top scholars in the field. Content comes from several core reference works including: Africana; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1895; Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present; Black Women in America, Second Edition; and African American National Biography. Additional content includes images, maps, and the text of primary sources.
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History
Call Number: E 185 .E54 1996 Reference
Encyclopedia of Women's History in America
Call Number: HQ 1410 .C85 2000 (Reference)
Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
Call Number: E 77 .G15 1998 (Reference)
Handbook of North American Indians
Call Number: E 77 .H25 (Reference)
Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups
Call Number: E 184.A1 H35 Reference
This work is a comprehensive guide to the history of immigrant and ethnic groups in the US from the colonial period through 1980 (date of publication).
LGBT : Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America
The Cambridge History of the Native Peoples of the Americas provides a survey of the history of the indigenous peoples of the New World. The work's combination of archaeology, anthropology, and history raises new and important questions for scholars in the field, while also promoting a better understanding of Native American history by historians and anthropologists whose main concerns lie elsewhere.
Volume 1 parts 1 and 2 focus on North America.
This resource can be used to explore both historical and contemporary U.S. Census data in report form or visually on a map, allowing for comparison of information from different censuses or geographic areas.
Encyclopedia of Southern Culture
Call Number: F 209 .E53 1989
Encyclopedia of New England : the Culture and History of an American Region
Comprehensive annotated bibliography on U.S. foreign relations. The work includes chapters by major scholars in the field on themes such as "United States Relations with Europe, 1815-1914" and "The United States, Asia, and the Pacific, 1815-1919."
This work includes over 1,000 entries ranging from brief factual pieces to extensive essays, the entries examine every major war from the Revolution to the Persian Gulf; important battles from Bunker Hill, to the Alamo, Gettysburg, Little Bighorn, Normandy, and Khe Sanh; and military leaders from Washington to Grant, Lee, Eisenhower, MacArthur, Westmoreland, and Schwarzkopf.