Provides a topical overview of Latin American development from earliest times to the present day, bringing to light patterns of continuity and change. It demonstrates the close linkages between Latin American history, culture, economic development, and geographic realities. Each entry and map is accompanied by a brief bibliography.
This 11 volume set covers Latin American history from the colonial period to the present. In depth entries by scholars in the field include detailed bibliographies. The 11th volume is a set of stand alone bibliographies.
The Cambridge History of Religions in Latin America covers religious history in Latin America from pre-Conquest times until the present. This publication is important; first, because of the historical and contemporary centrality of religion in the life of Latin America; second, for the rapid process of religious change which the region is undergoing; and third, for the region's religious distinctiveness in global comparative terms, which contributes to its importance for debates over religion, globalization, and modernity. Reflecting recent currents of scholarship, this volume addresses the breadth of Latin American religion, including religions of the African diaspora, indigenous spiritual expressions, non-Christian traditions, new religious movements, alternative spiritualities, and secularizing tendencies.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures by Mike Gonzalez (Editor); Daniel Balderston (Editor); Ana López (Editor)
Call Number: F 1406 .E515 2000 (Reference)
Three volume work on a wide range of topics relating to contemporary culture in Latin America since the 1920s. Topics include food, the visual and performing arts, sports, religion, and more.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Call Number: F 1406 .E53 1996 (Reference)
The original 1995 encyclopedia, an award winner from both the American Library Association (Dartmouth Certificate) and the American Historical Association, was celebrated as a landmark in the development of Latin American studies (The Americas). This new edition adds nearly 600 entirely new topics, replaces some 150 obsolete entries, and also provides substantial revisions to hundreds more. Every one of the 5,700+ entries has been reviewed for currency of content and bibliography. An entirely new illustration program features over 100 full-color photographs in addition to hundreds in black-and-white. National statistics have been conveniently tabulated for every one of Latin America's 37 countries. New content addresses research on prehistoric environments and cultures, U.S. Haitian interventions, the consequences of NAFTA and increased Mexican immigration, the troubled aftermaths of Pinochet's Chile and Fujimori's Peru, truth and reconciliation commissions, and the still-contested legacy of the Mexico City massacre of 1968. New leaders like Brazil's Lula da Silva and Venezuela's Hugo Chavez are profiled along with hundreds of other rising figures in politics, letters, and the arts. Newly commissioned master essays synthesize current knowledge on such major regional themes as Democracy in the Americas, Hemispheric Affairs, and the Hispanic Impact on the U.S. Includes full index and table of biographical subjects by profession. Edited by Jay Kinsbruner and an international team of consultants on three continents.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures
Call Number: F 1218.6 .O95 2001 (Reference)
Presenting the most up-to-date coverage on our knowledge of this society, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures is the first comprehensive and comparative reference source to chronicle Pre-Hispanic, Colonial, and modern Mesoamerica. Covers topics such as art, archaeology, religious studies, anthropology, Latin American culture, and the history of the region.
This Oxford Handbook surveys the large field of Latin American history by bringing together the principal themes and approaches over the past three decades. Essays address indigenous peoples of the region, colonial history, independence movements, rural history, slavery and race,European and Asian immigration, labor movements, gender and sexuality, popular religion, family and childhood, economic history, politics, and disease and medicine. The contributors include top scholars in the field.
The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Latin American History is a digital research encyclopedia that describes Latin America's peoples and experiences from pre-Columbian to contemporary times. It is regularly updated to include new content.