Skip to Main Content
UVM Libraries Research Guides
Search this Guide
This research guide is designed to help you get started with researching topics related to engineering.
Articles & journals
Books & ebooks
Dissertations & theses
Dictionaries & handbooks
National Center for Science and Engineering Statistics
The NCSES, part of the federal National Science Foundation, provides datasets and data-driven studies on a range of science and engineering issues.
The federal government's official portal for data sources. These include the departments of Energy and Transportation, the Consumer Product Safety Commission and NASA.
A searchable database of research data.
A searchable "global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines" (information from re3data).
U.S. Geological Survey Science Data Catalog
Includes extensive data on energy sources, water sources, and geological characteristics and behavior.
National Water Information System
The USGS's NWIS database provides access to data from more than one million water sites.
Water Quality Data (WQX)
The EPA's repository for water monitoring data.
Watershed Assessment, Tracking & Environmental Results System (WATERS)
The EPA's database for water quality assessments of sites with impaired quality.
Surf Your Watershed
The EPA's tool for identifying watersheds in an area and access their WQX monitoring data and WATERS water quality assessment report.
Department of Energy Data Centers
The DOE provides multiple repositories for data and other information. Hosted by the DOE's Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI).
U.S. Energy Information Administration (EIA)
Provides extensive data on US and international energy production, usage, and prices. Most data is organized by fuel type.
United Nations Statistics Division
Contains worldwide data on energy production, consumption, and trade.
The EPA's resource for data on emissions generated within the electric power industry.
EPA Office of Transportation and Air Quality
Provides datasets on fuel economy, vehicle emissions testing and other metrics.
DOE Alternative Fuels Data Center
Provides data on alternative and renewable fuels, new vehicle technologies, and other measures designed to support fuel economy.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics
Provides detailed statistics on the movement of people and cargo, infrastructure, investment, and more. BTS also links to transportation data on the sites of other federal agencies.
This link opens in a new window
Provides national-level transportation data from developed countries, including infrastructure, traffic, and casualties.
American Fact Finder
Includes US Census data on commuting patterns.
A list of municipal and metropolitan sources for public transit data. These sources typically contain data on routes and schedules; and ridership.
National Automobile Dealers Association
NADA, one of the leading industry groups for the automotive industry, publishes data and annual reports covering sales, services, inventories, and more.
Last Updated Sep 1, 2023
66 views this year
Data Management Guide
Last Updated Sep 15, 2023
723 views this year
Dissertations & theses >>
Sep 1, 2023 11:18 AM
Report a problem