Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UVM Libraries Research Guides banner

Dance: Find articles

Databases

International Bibliography of Theater and Dance

Provides full-text access to journal articles, book chapters, and some full books. Used in conjunction with Internation Index to the Performing Arts (see below), it offers a rich degree of coverage[Remote Access - UVM Affiliate Only]

International Index to the Performing Arts

Coverage dates back to 1864, includes many dance periodicals.  Provides citations--you may have to look for the article in our print collection.  [Remote Access - UVM Affiliate Only]

Web of Knowledge

An interdisciplinary database that includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, dating back to 1975. [Remote Access - UVM Affiliate Only]

JSTOR

Full-text articles from scholarly journals across disciplines.  Good for critical works and theory. [Remote Access - UVM Affiliate Only]

Project Muse

More full-text humanities and social science journals.  Good for critical works and theory. [Remote Access - UVM Affiliate Only]

Academic Search Premier

A good all-around database with full-text from both scholarly and general sources. [Remote Access - UVM Affiliate Only]

ARTstor

An arts image database that includes historical dance photography and other depictions.

Anthropology Plus

A good source for information on world and traditional dance forms in cultural context.

 

Dance Journals

Contact Quarterly

  • Coming soon in print to Howe

Dance Chronicle

  • 1977-1999, e-journal in JSTOR [Remote Access - UVM Affiliate Only]

Dance Magazine

  • 1958-present, print journal in Howe (some missing issues)

Dance Perspectives

Dance Research

  • 1983-2003, e-journal in JSTOR [Remote Access - UVM Affiliate Only]

Dance Research Journal

  • 1974-2001, e-journal in JSTOR [Remote Access - UVM Affiliate Only]

Dance Spirit

Impulse

New Dance Review

Additional dance periodicals can be accessed through the International Bibliography of Theater and Dance.

Liaison Librarian

Selene Colburn's picture
Selene Colburn
Contact:
Bailey/Howe Library

University of Vermont

Phone: 802-656-9980
Subjects:Dance