UVM Libraries Research Guides: Dance: Find Articles

Article Databases

Articles databases enable you to find articles published in many different journals and magazines by searching in one place. Some articles databases include the full-text of articles and others do not. For best results use multiple databases as each will provide some unique materials. If the full-text is not in the database use the "Find it @UVM" link to see if we own the material.

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance This link opens in a new window
This resource is a major international index to works on theatre, dance, and other performing arts. It contains citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, reviews, and dissertations. Many citations have links to full-text articles.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
This resource is an international index to magazines, scholarly and trade journals pertaining to the performing arts, and extending to dance, stagecraft, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, performance art, comedy, storytelling, and magic. It contains citations to articles, book reviews, performance reviews, and biographical profiles.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from scholarly journals across the disciplines. Includes coverage of the performing arts, anthropology, global/area studies. Good for critical works and theory. Issues published within the last 3-5 years are generally not covered.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable multidisciplinary full-text database of scholarly journals primarily in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It also provides citations to books provided by Project Muse in digital format.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
A good source for information on world and traditional dance forms in cultural context.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts, court opinions, technical reports, patents and many other document types. Google Scholar's coverage is extremely broad and sometimes more up-to-date than other databases - but its non-selective coverage may include lower-quality publications.

This link to Google Scholar will enable UVM affiliates to easily link through to materials to which we have access.

Dance Journals

Dance Research Journal
Dance Research Journal, a biannual publication of The Congress on Research in Dance (CORD), is oriented primarily toward historical and critical theory of dance. DRJ features articles, book reviews, research, and dialogues which span disciplines including anthropology, education, pedagogy, gender and sexuality, criticism, & intercultural studies.
Access issues from: 2008 to the present from Project Muse
Dance Research
Dance Research, The Journal of the Society for Dance Research publishes materials on the study and practice of dance. The journal provides an international forum for the presentation and discussion of contemporary dance research.
Dates of coverage is from 1983 with a rolling end date that excludes the most most recent 3 years.
Contact Quarterly
Was a journal of contemporary dance and improvisation. Topics spring from the experience of doing, and they sought to encourage articulation and dialogue, and stimulate activity and exploration within the field of movement and its performance.
Dates for coverage 2005-2020 (ceased publication).
For the newest iteration of this publication see the online site: CQUnbound
Dance Magazine
Major trade publication for dance.
Issues from 1994 to the present are available online.
Print issues covering 1958-present are in Howe Library.
Dance Chronicle
Peer-reviewed journal that publishes research on dance and seeks to expand the constituencies, methodologies, and theoretical frameworks represented within the field.
Dates of coverage 1977 with a moving end date (present date minus 1 year).
Dance Perspectives
Earlier title for the journal now known as Dance Chronicle. UVM has years 1959-1976 in print (Request from Library Research Annex)

Dance

Find it at UVM

LibKey Nomad

Article Databases

Dance Journals

Additional Sources for Performance Reviews