Need help connecting to online journals, books and databases? This guide will show you how to access library databases and journal subscriptions from off UVM or UVMMC campuses.
This guide will show you how to find your UVM NetID and, if necessary, reset your password.
To find full-text journal articles in most of our databases, such as PubMed, PsycINFO, Ovid MEDLINE, or Web of Science, look for the 
button. See the full list of health sciences databases here.
If you are unable to obtain the full-text through the database, check the UVM Journals A-Z List to view our holdings. From there, you can drill down to the desired article.
If we own the journal in print only, or if we do not subscribe to the journal, you may submit an Interlibrary Loan request, also referred to as Document Delivery, for the article.
This web page provides more ideas for obtaining full-text journal articles. And further information for accessing articles from UVMMC can be found here.
EBM Tree aggregates relevant databases and textbooks available from UVM to support medical education and practice.
More drug information resources can be found here as curated by Dana Health Sciences librarians.
Content
The Dana Health Sciences Library purchases print and electronic books in biomedicine and the health sciences. The Dana Library owns more than 12,000 print books and over 2,200 electronic books. We are adding new print and electronic books all the time.
Access
Print and electronic books may be found in CATQuest. The following quick search will look for your keywords and limit the results to Books.
For a detailed tutorial on searching CATQuest for books and other materials, check out the Searching the Libraries' Collections with CATQuest tutorial from Howe Library.
Specific Book Collections
The Medical E-Books guide lists the most popular medical electronic books available through the Dana Library.
Some other popular collections include one on Graphic Medicine and one of USMLE Study Guides.
While it's usually best to start your search in CATQuest, we have several e-book collections that can be searched directly. In most cases, these are books from a particular publisher, whereas CATQuest will search all publishers at once. Several of our Research Databases include full-text e-books.
Information about finding and publishing case reports can be found here.
Dana Health Sciences Library is open to everyone, regardless of whether you have a CATcard or ID badge. While the Medical Education Complex remains card tap only for Medical and Health Science students, faculty and staff, the main entrance to the building through the vestibule opposite the library's main entrance, directly adjacent to Converse Hall (see campus map), is open to all.
Dana has collaboration and online learning areas! These are areas of the library where students can participate in online classes. Talking and class participation (headphones or earbuds required) are allowed within reason. For more information, contact the Main Desk at 656-2200 or go to the library's Study Spaces at Dana webpage to view a map of these designated areas.
Small group study rooms, Zonez pods, the classroom, and the conference room are open! Book available library spaces here.
Items available for check-out! In addition to books, library users can check-out anatomical models, boardgames, graphic medicine resources, happy lights, study materials, all types of chargers, and more. Public computers and printing services are also available. Ask at the Dana Health Sciences Library Main Desk about circulation needs!
Visit our other Libraries! UVM is also home to Howe Library and Silver Special Collections, and their resources and space are available to UVM affiliates and community members.
