UVM Libraries Research Guides: Chemistry: Articles, Chemicals, Structures

SciFinder-n

SciFinder-n is the most comprehensive chemical information discovery tool. It allows you to explore the CAS databases which contain literature from many scientific disciplines. SciFinder-n is only available to UVM affiliates.

First Time Using SciFinder-n at UVM?

Unlike most UVM Libraries resources, you must first register for a personal account in order to use SciFinder-n. You will use this account to log in to the database each time you use it. Register Now.

Already Have a SciFinder-n Account at UVM?

Chemical Information and Articles

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
This database produced by Chemical Abstracts Services, provides comprehensive coverage of chemical information, including chemical substances, references, reactions, chemical supplier, and regulated chemicals. Scholarly content includes journals, patents, books, theses, and conference proceedings.
In order to use SciFinder Scholar you must first register for a personal account (only UVM affiliates are eligible for an account). You will need this personal account information to login to the database each time you use it.
Reaxys This link opens in a new window
This resource searches Beilstein (organic chemistry), Gmelin (inorganic and organometallic chemistry) and patent chemistry databases. It contains scholarly literature, compound properties, patents, and chemical reaction data.

Structures

Cambridge Structural Database (CSD)
This resource is a highly curated repository of small molecule crystal structures.The CSD System also comprises software for database access, structure visualization and data analysis, and structural knowledge bases derived from the CSD.
more...less...
This resource is available on the statistical software computers in Howe Library (1st Floor). For other access, please contact Rory Waterman (Rory.Waterman@uvm.edu), Professor of Chemistry.
Access Structures
The online portal to structural knowledge contained in the Cambridge Structural Database (CSD).
more...less...
Other packages from the CSD suite must be accessed using a UVM machine with the full software package available in the Howe Library or by contacting Rory Waterman (Rory.Waterman@uvm.edu), Professor of Chemistry.

Articles

American Chemical Society Journals This link opens in a new window
A division of the American Chemical Society (ACS), the ACS Publications database provides Web access to more than 30 magazines and peer-reviewed journals published or co-published by the Publications Division. These journals are indexed within SciFinder, but this entry point allows for easier browsing.
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) publications This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to current and historical content from the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) and its forerunner societies. It contains searchable full-text of 44 peer-reviewed journals, more than 1,500 books, and a collection of online databases and literature updating services. Article coverage is from 1841 to current, with reference-linking in articles published after 1990.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to the scholarly literature across disciplines, and includes citations to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, and more. It includes a cited reference search feature that enables users to trace the impact of individual scholars' work, analyzes search results by discipline, and creates citation reports of a set of search results.

Browse Industry Publications

Curious what's going on in the field? Looking for a research topic? These industry publications are a great place to learn about trends, new research, and other happenings in the field.

Follow Citations

Find Journals
First, search by journal title to see if UVM Libraries subscribes. Click on the relevant result to see the location and dates of access.
Interlibrary Loan
If we don't have access via the "Find Journals" link above, you can place an interlibrary loan request. This service will deliver you an electronic copy of the item for free.

Working Off Campus?

To access UVM Libraries databases and subscription content from a non-campus network, simply use the links on research guides or the library website. You will automatically be asked to login with your NetID and password if you aren't already logged in in another tab.

If you ever have trouble or aren't sure if you're logged in, you can manually log in here.

Still having trouble? Ask us.