UVM Libraries Research Guides: Chemistry: Reference

Online Reference Tools

E-EROS (Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis) This link opens in a new window
This resource provides detailed information on more than 5,000 reagents and catalysts. Content is accessible via alphabetical browse or text search.
Organic Reactions This link opens in a new window
This resource selectively offers over 200,000 of the most important and useful synthetic reactions; reviewed & refined by chemists. Features critical detailed discussions of mechanism, scope, and limitations of reactions. Contains tabular survey of all known examples of organic reactions to date, as well as safety and procedural guidance.

Select Handbooks, Dictionaries, and Encyclopedias

Chemistry: Foundations and Applications
Call Number: ONLINE
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 97th Edition
Call Number: REF QD65 .H3
Location: Howe Library, 1st floor check status
Encyclopedia of Supramolecular Chemistry
Call Number: QUARTO QD876 .E53 2004 (2 vols.)
Location: Howe Library, 3rd floor check status
User-friendly and high-quality articles parse the latest supramolecular advancements and methods in the areas of chemistry, biochemistry, biology, environmental and materials science and engineering, physics, computer science, and applied mathematics.
Greene's Protective Groups in Organic Synthesis
Call Number: ONLINE
Hawley's Condensed Chemical Dictionary
Call Number: REF QD5 .C5 2002
Location: Howe Library, 1st floor check status
Industrial chemicals, nomenclature, processes, reactions, products, and related terminology. Providing identification of chemical substances by name, physical properties, source of occurrence, CAS number, chemical formula, potential hazards, derivations, synonyms, and applications.
Kirk-Othmer Concise Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Call Number: REF TP9 .K54 2007 (2 vols.)
Location: Howe Library, 1st floor check status
Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances, properties, manufacturing, and uses; on industrial processes, unit operations in chemical engineering; and on fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field.
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
Call Number: REF QD65 .L63 1999
Location: Howe Library, 1st floor check status
Provides a compilation of facts, data, tabular material and experimental findings in every area of chemistry. Includes a section on separation methods and analytical chemistry.
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Call Number: ONLINE
Over 21,000 entries including Information on a broad range of topics, including definitions for terms from the fields of bioinformatics, biophysics, cell biology, chemistry, genetics, immunology, mathematics, microbiology, pharmacology, systems biology, and toxicology.
Oxford Dictionary of Chemical Engineering
Call Number: ONLINE
In over 3,400 concise and authoritative A to Z entries, provides definitions and explanations for chemical engineering terms in areas including: materials, energy balances, reactions, separations, sustainability, safety, and ethics.
Oxford Dictionary of Chemistry
Call Number: ONLINE
Oxford Dictionary of Weights, Measures, and Units
Call Number: ONLINE

Guides

Chemical Information Sources Wikibook

Working Off Campus?

To access UVM Libraries databases and subscription content from a non-campus network, simply use the links on research guides or the library website. You will automatically be asked to login with your NetID and password if you aren't already logged in in another tab.

If you ever have trouble or aren't sure if you're logged in, you can manually log in here.

Still having trouble? Ask us.