UVM Libraries Research Guides: English & American Literature: Articles: Background

Find it at UVM

When searching for articles using UVM article databases, the HTML or PDF full-text article may not be attached to the citation. If not, look for this icon:

Use this button to help you:

link directly to the article online, or
link to the journal's homepage, or
determine whether the library has that journal and year in print format, or
link to a search of the Library Catalog to see if we own the journal, or
link to an interlibrary loan form

If the article does not appear or if something confuses you, use to determine if the library owns the journal/magazine (print or online) and the issue and year you need.

What If the Library Doesn't Own What I Need?

Obtain the item through Interlibrary Loan.

Before You Search

When searching for articles using article databases, the full-text article may not be attached to the citation. If not, look for this icon next to the article citation to see if the library owns it and, if so, access it:

When you retrieve articles, you will get the article's citation. This is the information you need to know to find and cite the article. Below is an example of a citation:

Use a truncation or wildcard symbol at the end of a word or root word to retrieve variant word endings, including plurals.
It makes a search more efficient by decreasing the number of searches while retrieving more results. Most databases use * as the truncation symbol.
Examples: feminis* retrieves: feminism, feminist, feminists
environment* retrieves: environment, environmental, environmentalist, etc.
muslim* retrieves muslim, muslims

Interlibrary Loan

If the library doesn't own a book or article that you need, you may request it from another library via Interlibrary Loan. This service is free for UVM students, faculty, and staff. An article is delivered electronically and usually arrives within a few days. Book requests are generally filled within a week.

If you are making a request for the first time, you will need to register for the service before making a request.
Find more details and a link to the request forms. There is also a link ("ILL/DD" green button) on the Library homepage.

Use your UVM NetID and password to log in to the UVM network through EZproxy before you begin your research, to access the UVM Libraries' licensed electronic resources, such as article databases, electronic journals, e-books, and more. Once you're logged in look for "ezproxy.uvm.edu" in the URL of the web page (e.g., http://library.uvm.edu.ezproxy.uvm.edu/) to ensure that you are connected to the UVM network.
NOTE: UVM affiliates only after a database name indicates a licensed library database, restricted to UVM affiliates.

Subject-Specific Databases: Historical, Social & Cultural Contexts, etc.

America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
This resource provides information and full-text access to materials on American and Canadian history from prehistoric times to the present. It references materials published since 1964 and includes journal articles, book reviews, dissertations, and more.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This database provides access to scholarly articles on all aspects of world history, excluding the United States and Canada, from the 14th century to the present.
Bibliography of British and Irish History This link opens in a new window
This resource contains citations to articles, books, and book chapters on all aspects of British and Irish history, including the history of the British Empire and Commonwealth from all historical periods. It includes information about journal articles, books, and book chapters, published worldwide from 1900 to the present. Click the blue "IP Authentication" button for access.
CQ Magazine This link opens in a new window
This resource provides non-partisan reporting on Congress and current political and legislative issues. It covers the week’s political and legislative news, voting records and detailed issue reports, dating back to 1983.

Multidisciplinary Databases: Historical, Social & Cultural Contexts, etc.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable multidisciplinary database of the full content of archival issues of scholarly journals. Issues published within the last 3-5 years are generally not covered. It also provides citations to books and pamphlets provided by JSTOR in digital format.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable multidisciplinary full-text database of scholarly journals primarily in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. It also provides citations to books provided by Project Muse in digital format.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This resource is a multidisciplinary database that provides access to scholarly journal literature across all disciplines, as well as magazine articles and some newspaper articles. It is a recommended starting point for research on any subject, and very useful for topics that span disciplines. It includes some full text as well as links to full text. Date coverage: late 1970s-present.
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive This link opens in a new window
This resource is a searchable database of cover-to-cover, full-text content of the Times Literary Supplement (TLS) since 1902. Previous 5 years unavailable.
Readers' Guide Retrospective, 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
This database contains indexing of popular general-interest periodicals in the U.S. (1890-1982).
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
This resource is an international index to journals in the humanities and social sciences. It contains citations to articles, book reviews, film reviews (limited), theater reviews, and poems. A very limited number of citations include full text. This is a good resource for tracing the history of scholarship on a humanities or social sciences topic.

American historical periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society
This collection of magazines provides a history of the American people from the colonial period (late 1600s) through to the early twentieth century (1922). The periodicals focused on American concerns and were predominantly, though not exclusively, published in the U.S. or Canada.

Journals (online and print)

Journals Provided by UVM Libraries
Use this list to determine what journals the library owns in online and/or print format, as well as the date coverage for each.
DOAJ
Open access full-text e-journals
Independent Voices
Open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. Date coverage (varies by publication): 1951-2016.