Summary: The Abernethy’s Store Records include architectural drawings, building maintenance correspondence, and photographs of Abernethy's Store and the Abernethy Block from the 1930s to the 1970s. Located at 2 Church Street in Burlington, Vermont, the complex is also known as the Richardson Building.
Finding aid
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: Collection is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.
Summary: The collection contains drawings, floor plans, elevations, etc. of rooms and assorted details of the Shingle Style D. W. Robinson house at 384 Main Street in Burlington, Vermont, which became the Alpha Chi Omega sorority house. The residence and its carriage house were designed by Peabody and Stearns of Boston, 1885-1886.
Finding aid
Shelf location: Silver Special Collections
Notes on use: Collection can be accessed whenever Special Collections is open.
Summary: The collection includes about ninety different Vermont projects. Most are located in northern and central Vermont, with the greatest concentration in Burlington. At least 36 different architectural firms are represented, including Burlington architects Frank L. Austin, J. J. McLaughlin, W. R. B. Willcox, A. I. Lawrence, and Charles H. Crandall. The project dates range from 1896 to 1977, although over half are from 1910-1917. The collection includes drawings of residences and apartments, public works (schools, two state armory buildings, a hospital, bridges, power plants, waterworks, a town clerk's office, and the Chittenden County and Washington County Court Houses), and commercial buildings (ice cream, chocolate and maple sugar factories, a slate mill, and Burlington's Flynn Theater). There are also plans that show the location of railroad tracks, streets and businesses along the Burlington waterfront.
Finding aid
Location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: Collection is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.
Summary: Robert Burley is founding principal of The Burley Partnership in Waitsfield, Vermont, an architecture, planning and historic preservation firm. The collection contains drawings, project files, and office files that document the work of The Burley Partnership from its beginnings as the office of Robert Burley in 1963 through 2000. The project files document the firm's range of services, their relationship with their clients, the design and construction processes, and the wide range of projects the firm completed over nearly four decades of work. The drawings include design sketches and the construction drawings that represent the latest record of the project as built that are extant.
Finding aid
Location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: Collection is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.
Summary: Herbert W. Congdon was the official photographer for the University of Vermont's Old Buildings Project from 1936-1938, and continued work on the project until his death in 1965. The collection contain project records, photographs, and notes on early Vermont structures, as well as manuscripts and correspondence for Congdon’s book, Old Vermont Houses.
Finding aid
Shelf location: Silver Special Collections
Notes on use: Collection can be accessed whenever Special Collections is open.
Summary: The collection contains architectural drawings for the Edward Wells house (later the Delta Psi fraternity house) built in 1891-1892 at 61 Summit Street in Burlington, Vermont. The Queen Anne style home was designed by Edgar Allan Poe Newcomb, a Boston, Massachusetts architect.
Finding aid
Shelf location: Silver Special Collections
Notes on use: Collection can be accessed whenever Special Collections is open.
Summary: Freeman French Freeman is a Burlington, Vermont architectural firm founded in 1937 by Ruth Freeman, Bill Freeman and John French. The collection includes microfilm reels of Freeman French Freeman projects with drawings, circa 1940-1970.
Finding aid
Shelf location: Silver Special Collections
Notes on use: Collection can be accessed whenever Special Collections is open.
Summary: The collection includes architectural plans for St. Paul’s Church in Burlington, Vermont (1851-1852) and Trinity Church in Rutland, Vermont (1863) drawn by John Henry Hopkins Sr.
Finding aid
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: Collection is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.
Summary: Charles J. Hubbard (1922-1989) was a Vermont-based architect associated with the architectural firms Freeman-French-Freeman; Barr, Linde, and Hubbard; Linde-Hubbard Associates; and Burlington Associates. The collection contains building plans, photographs, and related publications from the period 1960-1980, including projects at the University of Vermont, Castleton State College, Johnson State College, Hampshire College, and the Champlain Street Urban Renewal Project in Burlington, Vermont.
Finding aid
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: Collection is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.
Summary: John Johnson (1771-1842) came to northwestern Vermont in 1790 and settled in Burlington in 1809. Johnson designed a wide variety of building types and structures, including bridges, mills, dams, barns, houses, and public buildings. Early in his career, he designed and erected a mill complex on the Winooski River in Essex. He designed the first buildings at the University of Vermont and the first Chittenden County courthouse. While most of his work was done in northwestern Vermont, he traveled to western New York, Lower Canada, and as far away as North Carolina. As historian Robert McCullough notes, Johnson’s plans and drawings in this collection provide a unique historical record of building projects that more typically involved informal agreements. The collection also includes Johnson’s detailed specifications for timber and materials along with instructions for milling lumber and price lists.
Finding aid
Shelf location: Silver Special Collections
Notes on use: Collection can be accessed whenever Special Collections is open.
Summary: The Louis S. Newton papers document the Vermont architect’s career, which extended from the 1890s until 1952. The collection contains drawings, correspondence and photographs of Newton’s projects, which included residences, summer cottages, and commercial and public buildings.
Finding aid
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: Collection is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.
Summary: Benjamin Stein (1922-2010) practiced architecture for over 50 years in the Burlington, Vermont area. He designed rural elementary schools, commercial properties, private residences, and buildings or renovations for institutions, most notably the University of Vermont, the University Health Center, and International Business Machines (IBM). The collection documents many projects undertaken throughout his career. It includes sketches, notes, correspondence, reference materials, photographs, blueprints and renderings, maps and drawings, microfilm, slides, reports, regulatory information, submittals and transmittals, product specifications, proposals, cost information and invoices, project manuals, bid information, and schedules.
Finding aid
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: Collection is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.
Summary: The collection contains the architectural records, drawings, photographs, and office files of The Office of Martin S. Tierney, based in Burlington, Vermont, from 1975 to 2002. Projects were primarily in Vermont and consist of historic public structures and private residences. Collection contents are organized into project files, office records, drawings, and photograph albums. The collection is particular useful for documenting changes made to notable historic structures throughout Vermont. Tierney completed a number of conservation assessments, village revitalization plans, and feasibility studies.
Finding aid:
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: Collection is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.
Summary: The Trinity College Collection contains the records of Trinity College of Vermont, a private Catholic college founded by the Burlington, Vermont chapter of the Religious Order of the Sisters of Mercy. The school offered a liberal arts undergraduate degree program for women from 1925 to 2001, and its campus is now part of the University of Vermont. Record Group 720, Physical Plant/Buildings, contains architectural renderings and plans, campus site plans, photographs, and office files related to building uses, maintenance and renovation.
Finding aid
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: Collection is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.
Summary: Microfilm reels contain blueprints, drawings, and specifications related to new campus construction as well as building renovations. The collection also includes survey field books for real estate holdings.The collection was microfilmed circa 1980.
Finding aid: A collection inventory on CD-ROM is available in Special Collections.
Shelf location: Special Collections
Notes on use: Collection can be accessed whenever Special Collections is open.
Summary: The collection consists of blueprint architectural drawings of buildings and memorials for which the Woodbury Granite Company supplied granite.
Finding aid
Shelf location: Library Research Annex
Notes on use: Collection is stored offsite. Please contact Special Collections at uvmsc@uvm.edu or 802-656-2138 to arrange access.