It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Streaming Video at UVM
Guide to streaming video in the UVM collections and resources to assist in teaching with streaming video.
The UVM Libraries has access to growing number of streaming services as well as a growing collection of stand-alone streaming video titles. This guide introduces you to these collections, offers advice on finding on stand-alone titles, and shows you how to take advantage of some of the advanced features of the collections. Address questions about this guide to: Daisy Benson (firstname.lastname@example.org).
UVM Subscription Collections Collections
Most of the video servicesfrom this section (UVM Streaming Video Collections) can be embedded into Blackboard. For instructions on how to do this see the page Embed Streaming Video in Blackboard.
This resource provides access to streaming videos for the study of counseling, social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Videos often include demonstrations of a certain counseling technique or method. Browse by therapeutic approach, counseling method, presenting condition, therapist, or subject and search videos by keyword. Clips can be made and saved to a personal library. Full videos or clips can be linked or embedded.
This collection includes archival and documentary streaming video on all aspects and historical periods of American history. Search for videos by keyword or browse by time period, subject, people, places, and more. Each video includes a full transcript, and many include a detailed study guide. Create an account in order to save clips or create playlists.
This resource is a British-based collection of high-definition streaming videos which captures live full-length professional theatre productions from leading theatre companies primarily in Great Britain. It also includes text- and video-based study guides; teaching aids; videos of filmed interviews with actors, etc., associated with the productions; full-text of the Manga Shakespeare series. (No embed option available - use linking instead).
This resource provides access to a collection of ethnographic films with broad geographical and cultural coverage. It includes some of the most seminal ethnographic films ever produced, and includes interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.
This resource provides streaming video access to documentary films, including award-winning productions. It allows users to isolate and annotate clips for scholarly projects and provides full transcripts. It can be browsed by topics, places, or director/producer; or searched by keyword or phrase.
Feature films and documentaries from around the world. Highlights include titles from the Criterion Collection, Kino Lorber, and the BBC, as well as numerous titles in languages other than English. Create an account in order to access advanced options such as creating clips. Users can now download an app to use for viewing on phones and tablets!
Access to thousands of streaming videos including Newsreels and old educational and training films. See especially the Prelinger Archives Collection, Universal Newsreels, and the United States Government Films.
Great collection of documentaries and animated shorts from the National Film Board of Canada. Watch online, link to videos, or download one of their apps for off-line viewing and other interactive features.
YouTube includes lots of content that can be great for teaching and learning: archival footage, news footage, materials in numerous languages. Link to content or embed use provided code, upload your own content and create channels for material you want to curate online.