Please remember to click on the "Connect from off campus" link on the top red bar of the library's home page at http://library.uvm.edu before you begin your research!
Then enter in your UVM Net ID and password, same as you do for Webmail and BlackBoard.
This enables you to use UVM Libraries electronic resources, such as journal article databases and the electronic journal collection.
If you need additional help with your research for this class, please don't hesitate to contact me. We can set up a time to meet for an individual consultation, and work through all your research questions.
E-mail: laurie.kutner@uvm.edu
The link below will help you to discern the scholarly, peer-reviewed journal literature from other types of periodical literature.
What is a Scholarly Journal?: Distinguishing between Scholarly and Non-Scholarly Periodicals
Here is a list of recommended databases that will help you locate research articles related to the broad study of climate change. As the topic of climate change is broadly interdisciplinary, this is not meant to be an exhaustive list.
= Remote access for UVM affiliates only
Academic Search Premier 
This is a general interdisciplinary index to journal articles, that includes full-text and links to full-text of articles. It is a highly recommended starting point for accessing journal articles on research areas that span across the disciplines. Coverage: 1970s - present.
*** This database is a great and recommended starting point for your research. ***
AGRICOLA
National Agricultural Library database, that is a comprehensive source of U.S. agricultural and life science information, including journal articles, book chapters, theses, technical reports, and more. Coverage 1970-present.
Biosis Previews
Indexes and abstracts articles from over 5,500 important journals in the biological and biomedical sciences, in addition to items from international meetings, review articles, books, book chapters, and more. Subject areas include all areas of the life sciences. Coverage: 1969 - present.
Environment Complete -
An index, with abstracts and some full text, Environment Complete provides coverage of environmental topics across the disciplines. Coverage from 1940s to present.
Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management -
Compendium of databases that broadly cover environmental sciences, pollution, energy, ecology, air and water quality, policy issues. Includes references to journal articles, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, and government publications. Dates of coverage vary by database.
GEOBASE
Worldwide index to the scholarly literature of geography, geology, and ecology. 1980-present.
Water Resources Abstracts
Covers world's scientific and technical literature on water, including conservation, pollution, management of water resources, and more. Includes references to journal articles, books, conference proceedings, reports, legal and government publications. Coverage 1967-present.
Web of Science
An interdisciplinary index to scholarly journal articles, with abstracts. It is a citation index which allows for citation searching and incorporates the Arts and Humanities Citation Index, the Science Citation Index, and the Social Science Citation Index. Coverage: 1982 - present. A very powerful research tool.
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, theses, and government reports on all aspects of wildlife and wildlife management, including endangered species, habitat management, and population ecology. It comprises Wildlife Review Abstracts (1935 - present), Swiss Wildlife Information Service (1974 - present), U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service's Wildlife Database (1960 - present), and several smaller databases.
